PDA

View Full Version : How to install software in FC6?



gersonsia
26th December 2006, 08:50 AM
im a novice user.
i've download a firefox 2.0 n save it on desktop.
i dunno how to install it by using the yum extender.
can anyone teach me what i should do?
i've search for many info n read but still failed to install firefox after i try for few methods.

d347hm4n
26th December 2006, 12:58 PM
change to root on the command prompt with


su

then type


yum install -y firefox

Dies
26th December 2006, 03:37 PM
change to root on the command prompt with


su

then type


yum install -y firefox

That won't do anything because FF is already installed.

To install an rpm that you downloaded you can either double-click it which is the preferred method, or you can move to the directory where you stored it and use yum localinstall <name> or rpm -ivh <name>.

For FF2 just download and extract then move the firefox folder to /opt/ and run it with /opt/firefox/./firefox. You can make shortcuts to it on your desktop or in the menu by right clicking then using that command.

wmc1369
26th December 2006, 04:35 PM
You can try installing the fedora friend following the directions on it's site www.fedorafriend.org. Using it won't teach you much of anything but it will make software installation a lot easier.

tradesman
26th December 2006, 04:55 PM
Try this it should work


yum -y --enablerepo=development update firefox

oryx
27th December 2006, 12:13 AM
try this....

yum install yumex
then run it by

yumex

NOW,,,u can browse tons of pakages to update or install.....
BUT if u downloaded ant software...like ur firefox....
if it was rpm u can easly install it with

rpm -Uvh xxx.rpm
u need to be root for this
Enjoy

gersonsia
27th December 2006, 03:42 AM
by default,the firefox 1.5 is used.
then it's update nothin. command prompt jz display 'nothing to do'.
there is no rpm in the firefox folder.

gersonsia
27th December 2006, 04:01 AM
is it the file .rpm same like the windows file .exe??
mayb i try to find the firefox 2.0 wif the .rpm n try it out...
thanks to everyone...

gersonsia
27th December 2006, 04:06 AM
i've try to move the firefox foldder that i extracted to /opt but it is not allow me to do so...why??

Dies
27th December 2006, 05:46 AM
Because you need to be root to do that.
Change to the directory where you unpacked firefox, so if you have it on your desktop do this, if not adjust the cd command to where you have the file. Open a terminal:

cd Desktop
su
mv firefox /opt/

The rest is in my last post.

Edit - By the way this is a good place to start, you might want to bookmark it:

http://forum.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=135568