PDA

View Full Version : 911 Major ploblem *** forget my other post and help with this*** please



golpemortal
24th December 2006, 11:49 PM
********** for Linux gurus, help me***********
I was trying to hook my second monitor....

so I went to display and enable my sacond monitor and rebooted the machine now x server won't start.....

show me there is a problem with /etc/X11/xor.conf

here is what I got on my monitor, I just log in as root with text command line only..

[root@localhost]#

please help bring my computer back?

mwette
24th December 2006, 11:56 PM
does "startx" work at the command prompt?
If not, look through /var/log/Xorg.0.log for '(EE)' messages.

golpemortal
24th December 2006, 11:58 PM
startx command works but i get error trying to start and it stop..
and stop
something on /etc/X11/xor.conf

golpemortal
25th December 2006, 12:00 AM
I cd to /etc/X11/xor.conf
type dir
and I get xorg.conf and also xorg.conf.backup
is this my old config?
can I just put it back ?
if it is, how do I do that?

golpemortal
25th December 2006, 12:25 AM
thanks guys... I managed to fixed the problem.....
I cd to /etc/X11/xor.conf type dir
I got two files one called xorg.conf and the other one xorg.conf.bauckup
so I rename the xorg.conf like this mv xorg.conf xorg.conf.old
and the file called xorg.conf.backup I did a mv xorg.conf.backup xorg.conf
then "startx" got my desktop back....

thanks guys....

mwette
25th December 2006, 12:26 AM
Why don't you post (set "manage attachments" part of post form) your
/etc/X11/xorg.conf and /var/log/Xorg.0.log files.

b_martinez
25th December 2006, 12:26 AM
What type of video card do you have and what drivers do you have driving it? If it was the nvidia drivers, the .backup file is likely the original.


su -
cd /etc/X11
cp ./xorg.conf.backup ./xorg.conf
updatedb
init 5

The su - is necessary if you are in your regular user account.
The cd /etc/X11 changes your working directory to the X11 directory.
cp copies from 1 file to another
REMEMBER to put a period before the /xorg.conf.backup and the xorg.conf. This tells the cp function to keep the files copied in the same directory.
updatedb command updates the data base [may not be needed, but won't hurt]
init 5 start run level 5 ---- the GUI runlevel.
hth
Bill

golpemortal
25th December 2006, 12:32 AM
b_martinez... kind of the same way, but I did it diff.... apriciate all your help guys..... really great forum for support and help for the newbee like me....

happy holidays to all of you.... going to eat me some "HOT tamales" :-)

b_martinez
25th December 2006, 12:38 AM
b_martinez... kind of the same way, but I did it diff.... apriciate all your help guys..... really great forum for support and help for the newbee like me....

happy holidays to all of you.... going to eat me some "HOT tamales" :-)

Just out of curiousity, did you get the 2nd monitor working? If so, was it with Xinerama?
Bill

golpemortal
25th December 2006, 12:52 AM
no I did not get it to work... I'm just afraid that I would mess up again.....
my video card is a Trident Microsystem CyberBlade XPAi1.... do not know why it didn't work..