PDA

View Full Version : text has all turned into squares

C1ivey
22nd December 2006, 08:14 PM
Earlier today I created a file in my etc/ld.so.conf.d directory with the line
/usr/local/lib
as a program I was using required a library in this directory. Since then the program has worked but a different problem has emerged which is quite serious. It is that all the letters in any text on the screen has been replaced by squares. If I open a terminal then the text inside the terminal is fine but everywhere else it is just these squares. I assume that this problem came about as a result of me creating this new file in etc/ld.so.conf.d but I can't see why it should have done.
Also when I run ldcofig I get the message
./ldconfig: /usr/lib/libMrm.so.2 is not a symbolic link
which may be connected to the problem, although I don't know what to do about it.
I am running FC5 and as you've probably worked out I'm quite new to linux, and if anyone has any ideas as to how I should get the text back to normal again then that would be very helpful.
Thanks.

tomcat
22nd December 2006, 08:53 PM
try
yum install urw-fonts

C1ivey
22nd December 2006, 09:09 PM
Thanks fpr the reply Tomcat. I tried what you suggested but I got
Passing package install arguments
Nothing to do
Do you think that means I have the fonts installed but for some reason they are not being used properly?
Thanks again.

tomcat
22nd December 2006, 09:37 PM
I think so. I remember that the same thing happened to me on another distro some months ago and forcing a reinstall of the urw-fonts package fixed it.

C1ivey
22nd December 2006, 09:49 PM