PDA

View Full Version : frustrated again

jfmiii
21st December 2006, 03:54 AM
I suppose that this has been aired before, But I don't understand why software canot be made to load and run without jumping through many hoops. Why do we have to go hunting Lib packages , some nearly impossible to find or not correct for FCxx that you are running.
I'm not a linux pro or anything close to but I have tryed many versions of linux and all have the same problem. I'm also no programmer but it seems to me that anyone that writes a program and that program needs something extra to run (dependancies) then they should supply the program a place to get these items with little to no user intervension. Untill these things are addressed Linux will never become a real threat to any other OS. (comments anyone ??)

wdgiles
21st December 2006, 04:17 AM
Most software I've installed has been a simple three word command: yum install [softwarepackage]. I've been running Fedora since Core 1 and I can count on one hand the number of times I've manually compiled any software. Is there a particular package you're having troubles with?

jfmiii
21st December 2006, 04:32 AM
You name it Java, videolan , limewire, and the list goes on....

ilbh
21st December 2006, 06:28 AM
i agree with you when you say that searching for dependency is a pain in the ***! and because of it many potential linux users that could be coming from windows to linux becomes frustrated and quits trying linux.

BUT nowadays every linux distro comes with a installer package software which search for dependencies and install it for you automagically. however, that same software sometimes cant find the dependency...

BUT it is very easy to solve dependency problems and people from linux communities are very helpfull, you can count on them for any problem you get, you do just need to post in many of the forums related to it.