PDA

View Full Version : FC6 random crashes and freezes



StrikerNL
29th November 2006, 11:54 AM
I'm having real trouble with FC6, normally I can work this stuff out but I'm kind of out of ideas on this one.

My problem is, I get crashes on Fedora Core 6, these come at completely random intervals. I've had it happen within 5 minutes of booting, while it has also run fine for over 5 hours. But I've never been able to keep it running for a day.

When it crashes, the whole machine becomes unresponsive, whatever was on the screen (if it's not blanked out) stays on the screen, and a hard reboot is needed.

Nothing is put in the logs (/var/log/messages) of any real value that I can see, making the problem even more difficult to spot.

It's a Sempron 3400+ with 1 GB of RAM.

Here's the output of my uname -a:
Linux probu-dev 2.6.18-1.2798.fc6 #1 SMP Mon Oct 16 14:54:20 EDT 2006 i686 athlon i386 GNU/Linux

Output of dmesg: http://ddcrew.be/dmesg.txt
Output of lspci: http://ddcrew.be/lspci.txt

Here's what I tried up until now

At first, it booted into X by default, and when the system crashed the screen became scrambled, so I figured maybe it was the onboard videocard I was using, so I put an AGP card in and disabled the shared memory, no difference, apart from the screen no longer scrambling when the system crashes
I figured it may be some kind of instability with X, so I changed the default runlevel to 3 in /etc/inittab. No difference
By this time I figured the ram was probably faulty. I downloaded memtest86+, made a boot CD and ran it for about an hour. No errors
Now I was getting pretty much to the end of my ideas, so I searched around a bit on the internet, which led me to this thread: http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=113. I tried a lot of things in this thread such as updating the kernel with yum update, I tried adding 'apm=off', 'nohlt', 'acpi=off' in grub.conf. No effect
I compiled my own kernel, 2.6.18.3. Still crashed
I have upgraded to the latest BIOS supplied by the motherboard manufacturer. No effect
I have replaced the only HDD in there with a brand new drive. Nothing
I have tried running the ubuntu 6.10 live cd. It ran fine all night without freezing I replaced the ATA cable, to no effect
I have to be honest, I'm pretty much stumped on this one, and I'm completely out of ideas.

Does anyone have any ideas?

clifweb
29th November 2006, 01:30 PM
Have you checked for overheating. Overheating could hang the pc

ibbo
29th November 2006, 02:06 PM
what does dmesg tell you.

Are you getting interupts or anything?

Ibbo

StrikerNL
29th November 2006, 02:44 PM
I don't think it's overheating. The motherboard temperature seems to linger around 30-35 degrees celsius, the CPU temperature around 45-50 degrees.

Here's the output of dmesg:
http://ddcrew.be/dmesg.txt

I can also add a BIOS upgrade to the list, I've just upgraded to the latest BIOS, I don't know if this has helped yet.

M_Kristensen
29th November 2006, 02:56 PM
I have a Turion x2 based laptop, and after switching to kernel 2.6.18-1.2849 I started seeing crashes similar to what you describe. I can make the crashes go away by removing noapic from my boot command. Doing this makes the PC hang during shutdown when sync'ing with hardware time though.

StrikerNL
29th November 2006, 03:07 PM
I have a Turion x2 based laptop, and after switching to kernel 2.6.18-1.2849 I started seeing crashes similar to what you describe. I can make the crashes go away by removing noapic from my boot command. Doing this makes the PC hang during shutdown when sync'ing with hardware time though.I tried both the old and the new kernels (2.6.18-1.2798.fc6, 2.6.18-1.2849.fc6), they both have the same problem.

Do you mean I have to add noapic or remove it, because it's not currently there (it has never been)?

M_Kristensen
29th November 2006, 03:22 PM
It seems we are having different issues. My crashes stopped when I removed noapic from the grub kernel line, but if you don't have it. I don't think that is your problem. It just seemed to me we had similar symptoms.

Supersaiyan.IV
29th November 2006, 06:12 PM
Hello,
I installed FC6 on my Dell D610 yesterday, and I'm also experiencing random freezes. The screen does not go blank here either, it simply freezes. The freezes appear with at a diminished frequency then desktop effects are turned off. However, whenever they appear this comes up in the error log just before crash:

crash 1:

I [29/Nov/2006:00:00:47 +0100] Listening to 127.0.0.1:631 on fd 3...
I [29/Nov/2006:00:00:47 +0100] Listening to ::1:631 on fd 4...
I [29/Nov/2006:00:00:47 +0100] Listening to /var/run/cups/cups.sock on fd 5...

crash 2:

I [29/Nov/2006:03:36:15 +0100] Listening to 127.0.0.1:631 on fd 3...
I [29/Nov/2006:03:36:15 +0100] Listening to ::1:631 on fd 4...
I [29/Nov/2006:03:36:15 +0100] Listening to /var/run/cups/cups.sock on fd 5...
I [29/Nov/2006:03:37:00 +0100] cupsdAcceptClient: skipping getpeercon()

That's what happens in my case at least.. I've tried to turn off the listen on localhost function, but im too noob to do it ;P
Anyways, since i had the same prob i thought this would help.

p.s.
M300 GPU 64Mb
1.6Ghz Intel Mobile
1Gb DDR2

Dies
29th November 2006, 07:58 PM
Are you using the ATI driver?

Supersaiyan.IV
29th November 2006, 08:58 PM
Are you using the ATI driver?

I know the official vendor drivers put the entire config askew. So I havent touched those ATI linux drivers.
It might be my wireless (Intel 2200BG) which is missing a driver. I'll try a few more things.

fishel
1st December 2006, 06:33 PM
I have the same freezing issues on my IBM T23. It only started after I upgraded to FC6 :mad: . ON FC5 it was stable.
As there is nothing in the log files I don't know where to start troubleshooting this.

fishel
4th December 2006, 03:02 AM
I did an upgrade from FC5 I was wondering if the other people having freezing problems were fresh installs.

colin_young
4th December 2006, 03:15 PM
Mine was a fresh install over top of FC5. I've since tried going back to FC5, but I can't even get past the first reboot now (kernel panic). I did upgrade the BIOS since the last time FC5 was running however.

alpha645
4th December 2006, 04:43 PM
Hello,
I installed FC6 on my Dell D610 yesterday, and I'm also experiencing random freezes. The screen does not go blank here either, it simply freezes. The freezes appear with at a diminished frequency then desktop effects are turned off. However, whenever they appear this comes up in the error log just before crash:

crash 1:

I [29/Nov/2006:00:00:47 +0100] Listening to 127.0.0.1:631 on fd 3...
I [29/Nov/2006:00:00:47 +0100] Listening to ::1:631 on fd 4...
I [29/Nov/2006:00:00:47 +0100] Listening to /var/run/cups/cups.sock on fd 5...

crash 2:

I [29/Nov/2006:03:36:15 +0100] Listening to 127.0.0.1:631 on fd 3...
I [29/Nov/2006:03:36:15 +0100] Listening to ::1:631 on fd 4...
I [29/Nov/2006:03:36:15 +0100] Listening to /var/run/cups/cups.sock on fd 5...
I [29/Nov/2006:03:37:00 +0100] cupsdAcceptClient: skipping getpeercon()

That's what happens in my case at least.. I've tried to turn off the listen on localhost function, but im too noob to do it ;P
Anyways, since i had the same prob i thought this would help.

p.s.
M300 GPU 64Mb
1.6Ghz Intel Mobile
1Gb DDR2

Shutdown cups during boot :)

StrikerNL
5th December 2006, 12:55 PM
On the recommendation of someone on another forum I replaced the ATA cable, still no effect. In fact, the crashes have become even more frequent (even before I replaced the ata cable). The system doesn't even run stable for 30 minutes now.

alpha645
5th December 2006, 03:53 PM
Now that you know how you can reproduce it, you can try swapping HD's :)

StrikerNL
5th December 2006, 04:05 PM
Now that you know how you can reproduce it, you can try swapping HD's :)I've already done that (as I said in the original post)

chocobanana
5th December 2006, 04:54 PM
Are you using desktop effects? If yes, try to disable them.

StrikerNL
5th December 2006, 05:08 PM
Are you using desktop effects? If yes, try to disable them.I'm not running X anymore, init 3.

chocobanana
5th December 2006, 06:00 PM
Try to put "acpi=off" without the quotes in the kernel command line in grub.conf. I also can't give other clues since my knowledge about Linux configuration is not too advanced.

uraldinho
6th December 2006, 08:24 AM
In the last 3 days I had 2 crashes almost the same as described here.

I'm using FC5.

kernel: 2.6.18-1.2239.fc5 64 bit
hardware: HP pavillion dv5000 laptop

I've looked at the log file but there is no message that corresponds to the time of the crash.

Recently, I've removed most of the Gnome packages from my system as I use KDE only. I think this has something to do with it...

alpha645
6th December 2006, 01:01 PM
In the last 3 days I had 2 crashes almost the same as described here.

I'm using FC5.

kernel: 2.6.18-1.2239.fc5 64 bit
hardware: HP pavillion dv5000 laptop

I've looked at the log file but there is no message that corresponds to the time of the crash.

Recently, I've removed most of the Gnome packages from my system as I use KDE only. I think this has something to do with it...

Yeah, StrikerNL, try swapping Gnome to KDE or XFCE :)

StrikerNL
8th December 2006, 02:50 PM
Yeah, StrikerNL, try swapping Gnome to KDE or XFCE :)I wasn't using X anymore, but no matter, it's fixed.

How?

I tossed out Fedora Core 6 and installed Ubuntu 6.10 and it's ran fine ever since. Not exactly the solution I had in mind but after over a week of hassling I'm just glad it works. Thanks for your help guys, too bad we couldn't work it out.

uraldinho
8th December 2006, 03:13 PM
I did exactly the same thing. I thought I'll check out what the hype is all about.

Im not gonna go into which distro is better, but I remember reading in this forum that FC is targeted at developers.

I kinda agree with that statement. Although, there are things I like about Ubuntu, I won't be changing my other FC machines to another distro yet.

Actually, my ISP isn't happy about me using Ubuntu. I have an uncapped fair use policy broadband connection, and I downloaded almost 5GB in two days. That certainly caught their attention. I suppose that's the main disadvantages of having a single installation CD.

Micha_Silver
29th December 2006, 01:18 PM
I did exactly the same thing. I thought I'll check out what the hype is all about.


Another bit of information for those of us still suffering from these lockups every few hours:
I am running FC6 on an IBM desktop - had been using FC3 successfully for quite a while - and now it freezes after 6-8 hours of running. I've tried KDE, GNOME, runlevel 3, fsck, the whole gamut discussed on this thread (and others).
Booting with knoppix, the machine continues running fine, as well as with the ubuntu CD. So I decided to download and try the new FC6 LiveCD and sure enough, it locked up as well!

mrsurf
29th December 2006, 01:25 PM
I m having similar kind of freezing problems even though i have made a fresh installation. I think there is a bug in this FC6

alpha645
29th December 2006, 01:29 PM
Then Try FC5 :) .