PDA

View Full Version : Fuse kernel module

anaraug
29th November 2006, 11:23 AM
Hello, I'm somewhat new to Linux, having installed it zillions of times but having used it only seldomly, using FC5 on a x86_64 cpu, and trying to set up ntfs-3g.

ntfs-3g installed fine, but can't be used because it claims there's a problem with fuse. Based on my best guess after reading the ntfs-3g faq and a few forum posts, I'm supposed to be updating the fuse kernel module. Eventually, I figured out that I'm supposed to ./configure it with the --enable-kernel-module option when I install fuse. Doing this tells me that configure doesn't know where the kernel source is.

So... being a complete noob, I don't know where it is either, so could someone perhaps give me a hint? Hopefully this is my only problem because it seems like a small one. If what I said in the previous paragraph sounds idiotic, please correct me there, also. Thanks in advance!

Seve
29th November 2006, 06:45 PM
Hello:
You really should not have to do anything extra with either ntfs-3g or fuse. Did you manually install ntfs-3g ? If so, uninstall and use yum.
Both are in the fedora-extras repository and if installed with yum you should be good to go.
yum install ntfs-3g
will also install the fuse rpm
then all you have to do is create a mount point and edit your fstab to mount your ntfs partition(s)

Seve

anaraug
29th November 2006, 08:04 PM
Oh, ok. I thought I read that it was only on yum for FC6, not FC5, but I didn't actually try it... It seems to have installed correctly, but I'm still getting the same error as before from fuse "fusermount: mount failed: No such device ".

To mount it I'm just doing
ntfs-3g /dev/sda1 /mnt/windows -o force

I was told that this is because the kernel probe for fuse is outdated, so that's why I was trying to update the kernel.

Seve
29th November 2006, 08:12 PM
Hello:
To mount your /dev/sda1
su -
gedit /etc/fstab
and add
/dev/sda1 /mnt/windows ntfs-3g defaults 0 0