PDA

View Full Version : Help needed recompiling xine



leigh123linux
27th November 2006, 01:42 PM
Hi I have no problem recompiling source rpm and making new rpm, The trouble is when I make rpm it is only i386 and I wanted i686 , Is this because the devel packages used were all i386.
Do I have to recompile all the devels as well or is there something that I have missed.

thanks leigh

LocutusOfBorg
27th November 2006, 01:56 PM
The build architecture s defined in your ~/.rpmrc file. I don't remember the link, but there's a thread on this forum started by "scarpaz" about building optimized rpms for i686.

leigh123linux
27th November 2006, 03:46 PM
How do I change build arch to i686

[leigh@localhost rpm]$ rpm --showrc
ARCHITECTURE AND OS:
build arch : i386
compatible build archs: athlon i686 i586 i486 i386 noarch fat
build os : Linux
compatible build os's : linux
install arch : athlon
install os : Linux
compatible archs : athlon i686 i586 i486 i386 noarch fat
compatible os's : linux


I have made rpmrc files and rc files for each user including mockbuild.

any clues

please

leigh123linux
27th November 2006, 04:01 PM
got there edit /usr/lib/rpm/rpmrc

thanks for info

martin.sourada
27th November 2006, 05:56 PM
One question - I am just interested: why do you need to build a rpm for i686 arch? The ones for i386 can run at i386, athlon, i586, i686, ... archs, but the ones for i686 cannot run on i386 (and other older archs than i686)...

leigh123linux
27th November 2006, 06:33 PM
One question - I am just interested: why do you need to build a rpm for i686 arch? The ones for i386 can run at i386, athlon, i586, i686, ... archs, but the ones for i686 cannot run on i386 (and other older archs than i686)...

How do I change arch type from i386 to 1686

Wont xine run better as a i686 package than i386.
I have never understood why they bother releasing fedora as i386 does any one still use these processors. I had to look it up its before my time. (its ancient)

I had to do a google for i386 , this is what I got .

Designed and manufactured by Intel, the i386 processor was taped-out in October of 1985

martin.sourada
27th November 2006, 07:52 PM
How do I change arch type from i386 to 1686

Have you tried rpmbuild --target=i686 --rebuild source-package-name.rpm?

leigh123linux
27th November 2006, 08:45 PM
[QUOTE=leigh123]How do I change arch type from i386 to 1686
[QUOTE]
Have you tried rpmbuild --target=i686 --rebuild source-package-name.rpm?


Hi thanks for option it works fine on i586 or athlon for targets but wont make a i686 package
could this be a bug.
I was playing with /usr/lib/rpm/rpmrc earlier and got same problem , since then I reinstalled RPM.rpm package to restore this file , Am I right.
If this is wrong , do you have a copy of fc6 32 bit rpmrc file.

thanks leigh

martin.sourada
27th November 2006, 11:58 PM
Hi thanks for option it works fine on i586 or athlon for targets but wont make a i686 package
could this be a bug.

I've just tried to rebuild gxine source package for i686 arch with this result: i686 packages were created. Could you post an error message or something to describe your problem more?


I was playing with /usr/lib/rpm/rpmrc earlier and got same problem , since then I reinstalled RPM.rpm package to restore this file , Am I right.
If this is wrong , do you have a copy of fc6 32 bit rpmrc file.

thanks leigh
I attach my /usr/lib/rpm/rpmrc (rpmrc.txt).

leigh123linux
28th November 2006, 01:02 AM
I've just tried to rebuild gxine source package for i686 arch with this result: i686 packages were created. Could you post an error message or something to describe your problem more?

I attach my /usr/lib/rpm/rpmrc (rpmrc.txt).

Hi Martin thanks for your rpmrc I coppied it to my rpmrc and removed other rpmrc that i had put in my home file and root as well as etc. With this done I can now make i686 packages.
Do you think I should use i686 or athlon for my processor , is there much difference between the two.
I have already done all four xine packages (athlon seemed logical) and it seems to start and run better.

many thanks for you help

leigh

martin.sourada
28th November 2006, 07:04 PM
Do you think I should use i686 or athlon for my processor , is there much difference between the two.
I have already done all four xine packages (athlon seemed logical) and it seems to start and run better.


Well, I don't know. What processor do you have? An old athlon or some newer one? And of course, you can try both athlon and i686, and decide what is better for you :)

leigh123linux
28th November 2006, 08:08 PM
I have a AMD 64 3800 X2 .

martin.sourada
29th November 2006, 12:41 AM
I have a AMD 64 3800 X2 .

In that case I think, you should rather try i686 if not even x68_64...

leigh123linux
29th November 2006, 12:47 AM
In that case I think, you should rather try i686 if not even x68_64...

when you say x86_64 you mean upgrade to fedora 6 x86_64

martin.sourada
29th November 2006, 12:54 AM
when you say x86_64 you mean upgrade to fedora 6 x86_64
Well, it could speed up your computer, but I heard (read somewhere in these forums) that there are problems with this architecture...