PDA

View Full Version : kernel wont boot

Jpitcairn
21st November 2006, 08:44 PM
Hey,
I just updated my whole system using yum update,

Now i rebooted the computer and it hangs on.

Uncompressing Linux . . . OK, Booting the kernel

All i see is a flashing cursor.

Any ideas on whats up and how to fix it?

i installed kernel-2.6.18-1.2849.fc6 but i can boot into the older kernel in GRUB.

JN4OldSchool
21st November 2006, 08:52 PM
architecture problems? Dont know why it would update with the i686 kernel if you had the i586 by mistake, but stranger things have happened with this bug. What kernel moduals do you have installed? kmod-nvidia, kmod-xen...? the easiest way to see all this in one place, including arch, is fire up yumex and go to remove programs. I would check the new kernel arch against the old.

Jpitcairn
21st November 2006, 10:50 PM
im really new to linux, can you explain exactly what i need to do?

Jpitcairn
21st November 2006, 10:54 PM
ok both kernel packages are i586, where as everything else is i386.

JN4OldSchool
21st November 2006, 10:59 PM
ok, while you have that old kernel booted try this:

http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Bugs/FC6Common

Do the 3 steps outlined in the code boxes to change to i686. Then try a yum update.

Jpitcairn
21st November 2006, 11:19 PM
ok i done all that, rebooted and its still the same.

Jpitcairn
21st November 2006, 11:43 PM
nobody know anything i can do?

Seve
21st November 2006, 11:48 PM
Hello:
What are your hardware specs?

Seve

Jpitcairn
21st November 2006, 11:51 PM
what do you want to know.

JN4OldSchool
21st November 2006, 11:52 PM