PDA

View Full Version : GRUB text size

Zombie8
17th November 2006, 03:48 AM
I ran a live cd of knoppix a few weaks back and noticed that when the live cd is installing the typical "loading screen type" information was in a smaller, cleaner, easier to read text which made reading what services and devices were being found and started quite easy to read at a glance. I would like to modify the way the text appears on my screen during this boot up process. My question to you fedora/linux guru's out there would be; "Can i accomplish this by modifying a setting in grub? Or is this a kernel option that i will have to set and recompile?" I feel that this would be beneficial for debugging purposes in the future. Although i am a linux novice, this might be a good learning experience for me as well, learning how the fedora os boots.

Thanks ahead of time for all posts to my question!

ljos
17th November 2006, 06:24 AM
I don't know that you can change the text size but you can customize the text color, background color, and splash image. Changes are made to the file /boot/grub/grub.conf.

ljos
17th November 2006, 06:26 AM
OK I think you don't really mean grub. grub is just the boot loader menu not the boot messages. Don't know how to customize that.

Zombie8
17th November 2006, 06:12 PM
ljos,

I think your correct. I do mean the boot messages and not the boot loader. I wasn;t sure what to call the time between the grub boot loader and when i login to my desktop.

Dan
17th November 2006, 06:53 PM
I believe that font is called latacyrheb-sun16.

However, I have no clue how to change it!

This page may help.

http://www.fedoraforum.org/forum/archive/index.php/t-11559.html

Dan

homey
17th November 2006, 08:58 PM
I would like to modify the way the text appears on my screen during this boot up process.
What I think you are referring to is controlled by vga=791 .
So, my grub entry looks like this...

title KNOPPIX
root (hd0,1)