PDA

View Full Version : Help with re-install PLEASE!

Basic
16th November 2006, 05:45 AM
I need to know how to format my hardrive or how to reinstall windows on my system.. I like lynyx i like the layout and everything else but im a complete newb to linux i cant get drivers installed i cant get browser plugins to work.. It due to my lack of knowledge with linux this was my first time trying linux but right now its not for me i dont have to time to learn it now with my schedule picking back up. :( can some one help me plz

eccentricgnat
16th November 2006, 06:02 AM
Hi,

I don't use XP but I have used windows 2000, but it has been three years since I really used it...But if I remember correctly you should be able to put the windows cd in, and boot from it. It should see your hard drive and offer to format it for you...Give that a try. If not you will have to get a floppy or cd with fdisk on it and use that. Go here http://www.bootdisk.com/ and you should be able to download a boot floppy from this site, and it should allow you to fdisk your hard drive. If you have a system restore disk, from the folks that built your computer, you may be able to use that...also put in the cd or dvd into the cd-dvd player and boot up...Maybe it will see your hard drive and reformat it for you. I am pretty sure that windows 2000 cd does format hard drives...even with strange linux formats on them...I have to admit I really am not sure now if it will linux formats or not...but I do remember it does format and reformat window formats for you. Just keep an eye on the first part of the install of windows, in 2000 it starts out in text mode....so pay attention and read what the windows say as the install process proceeds, and follow the instructions. Hope things go well, and come on back and visit Linux again...it's fun...and Fedora is my favorite version...though I haven't been able to get Fedora 6 working right...

take care

Basic
16th November 2006, 06:11 AM