PDA

View Full Version : Gaim (AIM connection)



Erebus56
13th November 2006, 04:07 AM
I guess I'll post my first question here. I have searched and haven't really found the answer to my problem, so I figured I would ask.

I put in my information into GAIM for AIM, I know it's correct, but it's still not connecting. I'm getting a connection Error. Any ideas? Please be specific with the help, I'm a n00b :)

Thanks,
Jerry

urzasrage
13th November 2006, 05:28 AM
Maybe your firewall is blocking it.

Erebus56
13th November 2006, 05:30 AM
I added the port to be allowed. I should have said that in the original post.

Jman
13th November 2006, 07:11 AM
Was the error message any more specific?

Can you try again? Sometimes the servers are just not working at the moment.

urzasrage
14th November 2006, 07:48 AM
I added the port to be allowed. I should have said that in the original post.

What port did you unblock?

Erebus56
14th November 2006, 02:01 PM
What port did you unblock?

I unblocked 5150, once I unblocked it, I noticed the port was changed from 5150 to aol.

urzasrage
18th November 2006, 05:28 PM
The port should be 5190 for AIM.

Erebus56
18th November 2006, 07:30 PM
The port should be 5190 for AIM.

Err, that was a typo, 5190 was the port I unlocked.