PDA

View Full Version : Resizing my hard drive using G-Parted



chuong
9th November 2006, 03:46 PM
Hello friendly Linux community.

I'm trying to resize my hard disk using G-Parted so I can create a dual boot computer.

Currently, when I open G-Parted, it shows a yellow sign next to my hard drive, as shown below:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v639/Ryu_Kaiser/Screenshot-5.png

Anyone know how I can resize this hard drive?

I can't seem to resize this hard drive, the function has been greyed out.

bob
9th November 2006, 04:15 PM
Your 'yellow sign' didn't appear on the post. After backing up your data and defragging Windows, have you tried using the gparted live CD: http://sourceforge.net/project/showfiles.php?group_id=115843&package_id=173828

Dan
9th November 2006, 04:35 PM
Morning!

At first blush, I think this is normal for an LVM partition. Gparted has no clue what it is. Saw the same thing on my FC5 install.

Dan



.

chuong
9th November 2006, 04:57 PM
Uh yeah I have the live CD, but you think I should boot from the live CD and try creating a partition space there?

By the way, I don't have any Windows installed, my entire hard drive only contains Linux so far.

Also, can't you see the picture in my post?

It has a yelllow sign next to the name of my hard drive.

leigh123linux
9th November 2006, 05:24 PM
If you are using LVM you can resize with the lvm tool found in menu. If you use gparted you will destroy all data on the lvm partition (default fedora install root partition)

Bobs advise is poor and will destroy your fedora install, sorry Bob

chuong
9th November 2006, 05:30 PM
Ah right, I understand I need to use the LVM (Logical Volume Management) tool provided by Fedora Core 6 to resize my hard drive I believe.

Currently I'm reading tutorials on how to resize my hard drive.

Anyone have an idea how to resize the hard drive using LVM, would be nice.

leigh123linux
9th November 2006, 05:31 PM
Glad to see you are still with us . leigh

another problem with resizing ,is you can only resize a unmounted partition (how big is the root lvm partition)

chuong
9th November 2006, 05:43 PM
Ah!!! It's Leigh!!!

Man, the pro is here.

OK here we go another mad 69 post.

So, I have 2 hard drives on my computer.

One 74 GB and another 111GB.

I don't want to touch the 111GB because that's all Data BACK UPS.

I only want to resize the 74 GB hard drive which only contain Fedora Core 6 and I have absolutely 0% . . . maybe %0.1 percent on how to use LVM tool.

leigh123linux
9th November 2006, 05:52 PM
how big is root partition ( 73gb / would make it differcult)

can you post what partitions are on lvm

chuong
9th November 2006, 05:57 PM
You bet man, I'll post an entire picture for you.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v639/Ryu_Kaiser/alldrives.png

If you need anymore pictures or information, just give me a shout.

chuong
9th November 2006, 06:02 PM
Root file system is 72.88 GB by the way.

leigh123linux
9th November 2006, 06:09 PM
it is possible to tar.gz / and save it on backup drive so you keep all settings and updates and drivers.
Then clear all data on the lvm harddrive , you then do a base install with fc6 with new partition layout ,
and to restore all settings and data you just untar the backup over this new install.

intrested? its not as hard as it sounds.

chuong
9th November 2006, 06:15 PM
It sounds dangerous . . .

By the way, I'm trying to create some hard disk space for Windows - I don't like it but there are some softwares which can only be run on Windows.

leigh123linux
9th November 2006, 06:18 PM
To backup /
from backup drive as root type

tar cvpzf backup.tgz / --exclude=/boot --exclude=/proc --exclude=/lost+found --exclude=/mnt
--exclude=/sys --exclude=/backup-drive

To restore

as root from backup drive type

tar xvpfz backup.tgz -C /

It has worked many times for me in the past.

chuong
9th November 2006, 06:25 PM
OK, I'll give it a try. This will allow me to like use 20 GB from the 74 GB total for Windows yeah?

leigh123linux
9th November 2006, 06:33 PM
installing windows will write over grub, so i would install this first before installing fc6 .
while installing fc6 i would include windows in grub and no lvm this time.

for a root partition 4gb is fine, also i would create a /usr partition 10gb , swap 1gb, and the remaining for /home.

tar cvpzf backup.tgz / --exclude=/boot --exclude=/proc --exclude=/lost+found --exclude=/mnt
--exclude=/sys --exclude=/backup-drive

--exclude=/backup-drive is the location of backup drive

chuong
9th November 2006, 06:43 PM
How do I include Windows in Grub?

and "backup-drive", does that mean my 111GB hard drive?

By the way, since I tar my entire linux partition, how do the computer know not to overwrite the "backup.tgz" file?

leigh123linux
9th November 2006, 06:45 PM
tar cvpzf backup.tgz / --exclude=/boot --exclude=/proc --exclude=/lost+found --exclude=/mnt
--exclude=/sys --exclude=/backup-drive --exclude=/etc/fstab

just included fstab to exclude list

bob
9th November 2006, 06:46 PM
Um, Leigh - let me ask you how I'm destroying LVM? I've used Gparted for years now without a disaster, including drives that had LVM. Perhaps your comment was because I had no idea that the drive already contained Windows and FC (LVM) - I originally thought that it was only a Windows drive being resized and partitioned to add FC (no graphic was there as I mentioned). If there's some way I've magically dodged a bullet all these years, I'd appreciate knowing.

I should make the distinction that I've NOT been resizing the LVM partition; I know that's a recipe for disaster.

leigh123linux
9th November 2006, 06:50 PM
when installing fc6 you can choose avanced setup for grub installer just add a windows entry and select the partition that hold windows /dev/hda?

yes just mnt backup drive and add location to exclude list for tar.gz

leigh123linux
9th November 2006, 06:55 PM
sorry Bob

alarm bells rang when i saw boot partition in picture.

I recently had lvm problem and had to migrated complete system to non lvm partitions.

I meant no slur to you or gparted livecd

leigh

chuong
9th November 2006, 07:02 PM
Hang on, so I back up all my files . . .

then I just pop the Windows CD into the drive and boot from there and install?

Wouldn't that completely write over my Linux?

leigh123linux
9th November 2006, 07:02 PM
Bob have you any advise about whole system backup that I have missed?

bob
9th November 2006, 07:03 PM
No problem, Leigh; you're far more of an expert than I am and I apologize for what turned out to be bad info once the graphic was loaded. Glad you got our friend on the right track.

Yeah, I also avoid LVM as other distros on the machine can't see the LVM swap and the info is not translated into grub and can't be inputted into LILO.

leigh123linux
9th November 2006, 07:14 PM
first backup system / to backup drive

tar cvpzf backup.tgz / --exclude=/boot --exclude=/proc --exclude=/lost+found --exclude=/mnt
--exclude=/sys --exclude=/backup-drive --exclude=/etc/fstab

then erase the offending harddrive /dev/hda

install windows

install fc6 including windows in grub setup

boot into fc6 and rewrite / file system with backup

tar.gztar xvpfz backup.tgz -C /

chuong
9th November 2006, 07:17 PM
If I install Windows first, wouldn't that overwrite my Linux automatically?

chuong
9th November 2006, 07:23 PM
How do I back up my Linux to backup drive?

My other hard drive (111GB) only contains data. It doesn't have any operating system on it.

leigh123linux
9th November 2006, 07:25 PM
first backup system / to backup drive

yes windows can overwrite linux partition just make windows partition and leave the rest free for new linux partitions

then install fc6 base system, the less packages the quicker it install.


you the boot fc6 and rewrite / with backup tar file this restores all packages , updates ,and settings

leigh123linux
9th November 2006, 07:27 PM
what file system do you have on the 111gb harddrive

if you tell me file system type , i will give you mount commands for drive

chuong
9th November 2006, 07:41 PM
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v639/Ryu_Kaiser/backupdrive.png

Dan
9th November 2006, 07:45 PM
Hi Leigh,

Just a note, then I'm out of the way until chuong is up and running.

1) I have FC5 on a 20G HDD, / partition is LVM
2) I have a 50G FAT32 DATA storage partion existing on an external 120G drive, and ~70G unallocated space. I need to keep the FAT32 DATA storage partition intact.
3) I'd love to move the FC5 system to the 120G drive, intact, without a re-install.
4) I do not want another LVM partition on the 120G target drive. (LVM is a PITA!)
5) Can do? and if so, how?

Just tossing my hat in, and this can surely wait until Chuong is back into high gear.

Dan

leigh123linux
9th November 2006, 07:46 PM
ntfs is a problem . how much data does / hold ? . do you have dvd burner

chuong
9th November 2006, 07:47 PM
I'm getting really sleepy, sorry ^.^! can't think straight.

I'll try this another time.

chuong
9th November 2006, 07:52 PM
By the way Leigh, you don't happen to have Maya and got it working on Linux do you?

leigh123linux
9th November 2006, 08:00 PM
Hi tangledweb

this will be harder because of kernel updates ( you have edit grub.conf and might have to reinstall grubloader)
to do this you need enough space to hold backup tar on another drive.
1. cd /to/backup/drive
2. as root (su)
tar cvpzf backup.tgz / --exclude=/proc --exclude=/lost+found --exclude=/mnt
--exclude=/sys --exclude=/backup-drive --exclude=/etc/fstab

remember to exclude backup drive --exclude=/backup-drive
this backups /
3.install FC5 ( base install )
4.boot up new FC5
5.cd /to/backup/drive
6.as root (su) overwrite new install
tar.gztar xvpfz backup.tgz -C /
7. edit grub.conf , change all /dev/mapper/Vol entries to normal /dev/hd?

leigh123linux
9th November 2006, 08:24 PM
sorry I dont use maya (I can just about use gimp to touch up photos)

Dan
9th November 2006, 08:39 PM
Outstanding! Thank you, Leigh! :)

Dan

leigh123linux
9th November 2006, 08:47 PM
Hi Leigh,

Just a note, then I'm out of the way until chuong is up and running.

1) I have FC5 on a 20G HDD, / partition is LVM
2) I have a 50G FAT32 DATA storage partion existing on an external 120G drive, and ~70G unallocated space. I need to keep the FAT32 DATA storage partition intact.
3) I'd love to move the FC5 system to the 120G drive, intact, without a re-install.
4) I do not want another LVM partition on the 120G target drive. (LVM is a PITA!)
5) Can do? and if so, how?

Just tossing my hat in, and this can surely wait until Chuong is back into high gear.

Dan


having closer look at your system you could untar on a new partition setup on (/ & swap) spare space (120gb harddrive) without erasing old system.
then just edit grub.conf & fstab and mkdir the directories that were not copied i.e /sys /proc /mnt & /lost+found to make it bootable

chuong
10th November 2006, 05:37 AM
I have a DVD burner but not on this computer.

My " / " holds about 5 GB but it could be less, if I removed KDE, which I installed earlier for testing purposes.

leigh123linux
10th November 2006, 10:05 AM
I can't recommend resizing your nfts backup drive to preform system backup , dvd would be safer

chuong
10th November 2006, 11:32 AM
Hm...maybe I should wait till I have money to buy another hard drive then that'll clear this whole mess up and a lot others easily.

Dan
10th November 2006, 05:16 PM
Hm...maybe I should wait till I have money to buy another hard drive then that'll clear this whole mess up and a lot others easily. Hmmm. Expensive, but an elegant solution! Can't have too many HDDs :p

Dan