PDA

View Full Version : nvidian lan driver not working

Delarama
15th April 2004, 04:11 AM
Hi Everyone
I'm a newbie and I'm slowly learning Linux. I have a mb with nvidia lan. Ihave installed fedora (2.4 kernel) and download nvidia drivers off nvidia site. I extracted and installed it no errors. I did a "modprobe nvet" in root through terminal and said invalid command. So the driver is recognized in the network settings but i still can't get it ot work? Any ideas as to problem? I hop i can get it to work, cause i do enjoy learning linux.
Thanks
Del

SuperNu
15th April 2004, 05:15 AM
When you typed "modprobe nvnet", were you root or a normal user? You must be root to insert or remove modules. If you were root, how did you become root, log in, su - or su? The first two will set root's envrionment, the third will use your current user's envrionment. Try "/sbin/modprobe nvnet". Also, after you ran make, did you run make install? Remember, you have to be root to install the Nvidia modules.

I just updated to the latest Fedora kernel, 2.4.22-1.2179.nptl, and these are the steps I took to install the Nvidia network module (I logged into the command line as root)...
1 - tar xzvf NVIDIA_nforce-1.0-0261.tar.gz (I don't like the RPM)
2 - cd nforce
3 - make
4 - make install
5 - enjoyed network connectivity.

If you still need more help, please let me know.

--SN

Prometheus
15th April 2004, 08:19 PM
just out of curiosity, did you download the unified driver? I know that contains the lan drivers (i have a nf2 mobo), but im pretty sure none of the others do. Try using the unified driver if you didnt use that last time.

Delarama
17th April 2004, 02:28 AM
Hi Guys