PDA

View Full Version : mounted volumes not showing up on Desktop or Gnome's "computer" - FC6, Gnome2.16



edavis6678
31st October 2006, 07:47 PM
I've been searching everywhere in order to get 3 partitions to show up on the Gnome desktop (as icons/drives). I've search everywhere and seemed to have tried everything. Pulling my hair out, hoping someone can help. I'm running Gnome 2.16 and FC6 off fresh install. These are FAT32 partitions.

Here's my Fdisk -l


Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/hdc1 * 1 4177 33551721 c W95 FAT32 (LBA)
/dev/hdc2 4178 8354 33551752+ c W95 FAT32 (LBA)
/dev/hdc3 8355 12531 33551752+ c W95 FAT32 (LBA)
/dev/hdc4 12532 30401 143540775 7 HPFS/NTFS

I created 3 folders within /media as follows


[root@media]# ls -g
total 12
drwxrwxrwx 2 root 4096 Oct 29 20:57 vol1
drwxrwxrwx 2 root 4096 Oct 29 20:57 vol2
drwxrwxrwx 2 root 4096 Oct 29 20:57 vol3

My fstab file has the following added to it:


/dev/hdc1 /media/vol1 auto auto,rw,showexec,quiet,umask=000 0 0
/dev/hdc2 /media/vol2 auto auto,rw,showexec,quiet,umask=000 0 0
/dev/hdc3 /media/vol3 auto auto,rw,showexec,quiet,umask=000 0 0

I've also just tried this in fstab, with no luck


/dev/hdc1 /media/vol1 vfat umask=000 0 0
/dev/hdc2 /media/vol2 vfat umask=000 0 0
/dev/hdc3 /media/vol3 vfat umask=000 0 0

I can access the volumes just fine when I browse to the folders within the /media directory, but I want access to them directly from "Computer", or from the Desktop. (and not as a "folder" on the desktop).

Would this maybe not work for me because I'm running Compiz and the GLX Eye-Candy stuff? I don't know why I think this, but it is something I did change after the default install. I tried doing this both from /media and from /mnt, with no luck. (one post that I found suggested that it had to be in the /media folder for it to show up on the desktop.)

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

edavis6678
2nd November 2006, 06:07 PM
I answered my own question, but thought to post what I found in case someone else was having same issue.

(I'm completely new to Fedora, so I have no idea of the impact of this command, (I backed up the file before proceeding)


If you want to automatic mount your NTFS partition in GNOME, run this command:

$ rm /usr/share/hal/fdi/policy/10osvendor/99-redhat-storage-policy-fixed-drives.fdi

The answer came from : http://laci.linuxforum.hu/#ntfs-3g - This site is talking more about mounting NTFS partitions, (which is not what I'm doing), but the directions talk about changing gnome policy to mount the drives on the desktop and it works for my fat32

If anyone has more information on this policy that would be great.