PDA

View Full Version : Strange behavior on desktops icons

benjie1
30th October 2006, 08:36 PM
My "Home" desktio icon says malformed URL home:/ The same icon in the taskbar opens Thunderbird. The "System" icon on the desktop says "The file or folder system:/. does not exist. And finally the "Trash" icon says malformed URL trash:/ I'm a newbie and if I knew how to take and send you a screenshot I would do it. Seems like a very strange thing goin on here. :( Is there a Gremlin in there doing things do drive me crazy? (LOL) Appreciate your help. Thanks very much.

Had mentioned this before under software, but the icons are doing different things and trash just started to act strangely. As a Newbie I thought that General support was the proper place for this type of problem. Hope that doesn't cause confusion for you. Thanks again. The home and system icons were opening Thunderbird when I posted this problem under software. Now they are doing what I listed here, Drives me crazy. Thanks again. Maybe this should be under " cryptic icons" if there were such a category. Thanks. :-)

ssc1997
30th October 2006, 09:50 PM
Can you take a screenshot?

Dan
30th October 2006, 10:03 PM
Hi Benjie1

In order to take a screen shot, just hold down the [ALT] key and tap the [Print Screen] key.

benjie1
31st October 2006, 12:42 PM
OK. Will try to take a screen shot of the home icon.

snapshot2.png

I took a screenshot and it appeared on the desktop but couldn't get the picture in here. Just able to get the file above. Guess I need more help to get the actual picture here and reasonably close up. All I got was a pic of the whole desktop with the error malformed url which you can hardly see. Thanks again. Will follow your suggestions to post the real picture. :-)

benjie1
31st October 2006, 08:50 PM