PDA

View Full Version : Help New To Linux!!

xGutsAndGloryx
30th October 2006, 02:52 AM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
i am new to the linux operating system. i am very eager to learn it but i am running into some problems. i am looking for some assistance in the following problems.
i am trying to run updates using YUM. I kept getting various error message mostly half way through the update. I am still trying to understand how stuff works. I am trying to install new themes & stuff. I get the files downloaded into the correct folder but they aren't viewable by the control panel. I am wanting to update to the latest version of fedora core. i have kepting have problems doing so. I am really wanting to learn linux but has you can see i need a good bit of help getting me pointed in the right direction. any assistance is very much appreciated..

Jeff B

u-noneinc-s
30th October 2006, 03:24 AM
1; OS and arch FC4 FC5 FC6? i386 x86-64 PPC etc
2; Seperate your problems into seperate paragraphs. It makes it easier to follow. (We are all guilty of this from time to time).
3; Give some detail about how you proceded with your task. ie: I DLd a theme to my desktop or to my /home/username/packagename and "what" application you are trying to access it with. (Generally themes are .tar.gz or .tar.bz and need to be unpacked and installed the theme). There are different types of packages with different installtion methods. The .tar's already mentiond and rpms are typical for fedora but there are others .bin and .sh for example so that is helpful info too.
4; Error messages are essential. If you are using yum and getting errors in the middle of the process, I'll guess that it's dependencies, copy and paste the error into your message.

Post back.
Welcome and good luck. Learn a lot so you can contribute down the line :D

xGutsAndGloryx
30th October 2006, 03:29 AM