PDA

View Full Version : Nvidia drivers Fedora 6



jazzyjerome
29th October 2006, 04:36 PM
I am trying to get nvidia drivers to work on Fedora 6. I tried to install files from http://rpm.livna.org/fedora/6/x86_64/repodata/ and I'm going through dependency hell. If anyone know how to resolve this issue please post it.

bob
29th October 2006, 04:59 PM
Let yum solve all that for you. First of all, add livna to your /etc/yum.reposd by these simple instructions from Livna:

To use the rpm.livna.org repository, simply install the following
livna-release package:

http://rpm.livna.org/livna-release-6.rpm


Then, as root (su -):

yum install kmod-nvidia

bob
29th October 2006, 05:05 PM
One more possible glitch you may be encountering. Some have reported that the i586 kernel was installed instead of the i686. You might want to check:


uname -a

Edit: wrong code previously - glad it worked for you though!

jazzyjerome
29th October 2006, 06:21 PM
Thanks for the reply. I tried that rpm -qa | grep kernel
kernel -2.6.18-1.2798.fc6 I believe that is the correct one.

jazzyjerome
29th October 2006, 06:30 PM
Thanks Bob worked like a charm!

My next problem is how to get the resolution beyond 800x600?

djselbeck
29th October 2006, 06:38 PM
Hello,

you could try running as root:

system-config-display and then configure the monitor. but you should pay attention that you don't switch the graphic card to something else than nvidia.

DJSelbeck

jazzyjerome
29th October 2006, 07:01 PM
I tried that and the option wasn't availible. I switched to a later model monitor then it became availible. I guess it doesn't like my old generic monitor. :)

nocture
29th October 2006, 07:38 PM
Hi there
I have problem installing nvidia drivers too. When I type yum install kmod-nvidia:

Transaction Check Error: package kernel-2.6.18-1.2798.fc6 is already installed
file /boot/System.map-2.6.18-1.2798.fc6 from install of kernel-2.6.18-1.2798.fc6 conflicts with file from package kernel-2.6.18-1.2798.fc6
file /boot/config-2.6.18-1.2798.fc6 from install of kernel-2.6.18-1.2798.fc6 conflicts with file from package kernel-2.6.18-1.2798.fc6
file /boot/symvers-2.6.18-1.2798.fc6.gz from install of kernel-2.6.18-1.2798.fc6 conflicts with file from package kernel-2.6.18-1.2798.fc6
file /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.18-1.2798.fc6 from install of kernel-2.6.18-1.2798.fc6 conflicts with file from package kernel-2.6.18-1.2798.fc6

bob
29th October 2006, 07:57 PM
Nocturne, I think you've got that i586/i686 conflict. Just search the Forum for the threads on how to fix it. Should be under 'i586'. It generally involves installing the xen kernel, booting into that, then removing the i586 version, installing the i686 version and then booting back into the i686 after installing the nvidia drivers.

nocture
29th October 2006, 09:22 PM
ok so I've reinstalled the kernel to i686. The nvidia drivers are now working fine but the only available resolution is 1600x1200 and refresh rate 75Hhz. How can I change it?

linmix
29th October 2006, 10:43 PM
I'm not impressed with FC6! FC1-5 recognsed my monitor without a glitch, FC6 doesn't even seem to bother.
I checked my xorg.conf and there's no monitor section. The 'screen' section doesn't contain any modes and the mouse section is gone as well (although it appears to be working fine... isn't hardware support supposed to improve?


edit... Thinking back I may be to blame :eek: I switched to my other box during install, so FC coeldn't probe the screen or the mouse. Anyway, I copied over some bits from my FC5 xorg.cong (the 'screen'section and the modes) and everything appears to be working fine again.

linmix
29th October 2006, 10:55 PM
One more possible glitch you may be encountering. Some have reported that the i586 kernel was installed instead of the i686. You might want to check:



Edit: wrong code previously - glad it worked for you though!

Hmm, I can't quote your command, but anyway, uname -r will give you the kernel name, but not the kernel architecture. An easy way to get that would be

yum list installed | grep kernel

bob
29th October 2006, 11:42 PM
Ah, THAT'S the one! Thanks - senior moment!

lvanek
30th October 2006, 02:14 AM
nocture:

I had to edit my /etc/X11/xorg.conf file to add a Mode line to my Display subsection within the Screen section. Then all is well. Its the line that looks like:

Modes "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600"

jazzyjerome
30th October 2006, 03:48 PM
nocture:

I had to edit my /etc/X11/xorg.conf file to add a Mode line to my Display subsection within the Screen section. Then all is well. Its the line that looks like:

Modes "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600"
I did that also. I don't know why they removed that.

garymayor
30th October 2006, 10:22 PM
http://lunapark6.com/?p=2454