PDA

View Full Version : FC6 - Cannot Log In After Updates

zenarcher
28th October 2006, 02:24 PM
I just installed some updates this morning through SMART. Since doing so, when I reboot, everything appears fine until I reach the Login Screen. (I am using KDE desktop). I enter my username and password and get a message advising, "Your session only lasted less than 10 seconds. Try logging in with one of the failsafe sessions to see if you can fix this problem.

When I click to check the log (~/.xsession-errors file) message, I have this information: "localuser: zenarcher being added to access control list."

Could anyone help me fix this problem? I am quite new to FC and Linux.

Cheers,
zenarcher

zenarcher
28th October 2006, 04:43 PM
Well, I guess no one knows the answer to this one, so I'm off to FC6 reinstall land....for the fourth time.

zenarcher

leigh123linux
28th October 2006, 05:01 PM
hi i updated last night , there was a new selinux and i think bash packages which i installed, after i treid login into gnome ,i got a error message saying i did not have the right permission 644 , it still let me in , but root password no longer worked in terminal.

glennzo
28th October 2006, 05:50 PM
Zenarcher, I don't know the answer to your question, however, I seem to recall seeing a similar question asked here in the past. Now for the obvious question. Did you search in these forums?

trickynik
29th October 2006, 10:25 AM
I ran updates on my FC6 today using yum and I too have the same problem trying to login and get the 10 second error message as I try to login - I have gnome and KDE.. I reinstalled and ran updates again..same problem!
I can access it via SSH from my other pc.
Anyone knows what causing this?

staham
29th October 2006, 10:35 AM
It could be a number of things.. But if you know which updates you installed, that would probably help.