PDA

View Full Version : creative progams for Linux

alkaline
11th April 2004, 01:11 AM
I am very interested in using Linux and have run a couple of old distros on my pc before. I am a student at an art institute now and I rely heavily on photoshop, illustrator, flash, and dreamweaver. Is there software available for linux yet that would be up to par and would be worth making the switch?

crackers
11th April 2004, 03:54 AM
To be honest, the answer is "not quite." While there are many capable OSS programs that work in those areas, they're not quite on par with something that multi-million dollar corporations bank on and produce.

From what I know, GIMP is pretty close in matching raw power with Photoshop, although some of the tools are not quite as sophisticated.

However, you can run at least Photoshop (that I know of) with a (commerical) program called "CrossOver Office" from CodeWeavers. It may hiccup and do a couple of interesting things, but you won't have to reboot Linux when it does. :D

alkaline
11th April 2004, 08:08 AM
thanks for the feedback, I didn't think that open source was quite where the commercial software is, but I wasn't sure

Ug
11th April 2004, 08:15 AM
GIMP is better than photoshop in my mind, and i've used both extensively.

As for Flash you will like crackers say have to use a windows program in order to do it. No other program is better at Flash than Macromedia Flash and there's no disputing it.

In terms of WYSIWYG HTML editors, they're not very popular in the Linux world. With most people preferring to "get down and dirty with code", but the leading editors are Bluefish and Quanta. (I think Quanta may have some WYSIWYG support thesedays).

HTH

Finalzone
11th April 2004, 09:32 AM
Quanta definitevely supports WYSIWYG. Personaly, I prefer to use seperate browser to preview the webpage.

colm
11th April 2004, 10:06 AM
Mozilla Nvu is nowhere near dreamweaver, but it is leaps and bounds ahead of microsoft front page.

alkaline