PDA

View Full Version : WiFi problems Thinkpad T30 on Fedora Core 6 Test 3 (5.92)

tompabompa
18th September 2006, 01:07 PM
Hi There,
I'm a Linux beginner who just dared install Fedora Core 6 Test 3 (5.92) on my Thinkpad T30. I have a problem with getting the built in WiFi device to work properly. Could anyone steer me in the right direction please?
Many thanks

Iron_Mike
18th September 2006, 05:37 PM
We will probally need to know more about the hardware, is an Intel series, broadcom, etc to be able to help you.

tompabompa
18th September 2006, 06:00 PM
Thanks Mike,
Details see below; It's a built in Intel Wireless. As an alternative I also have a D-Link DWL-G650 pc card. I haven't succeded in activating any of these. I'm very greatful for your attention on this.
Kind regards
Tomas

Processor
Dual-mode, high-performance Mobile Intel(R) Mobile Pentium(R) 4 Processor-M at 1.6GHz or 1.8GHz or 1.9GHz or 2.0GHz or 2.2GHz or 2.4GHz
Enhanced Intel SpeedStep(TM) technology
512 KB onboard L2 cache memory
400MHz front side bus

Network
10/100 Ethernet installed on the system board
Selected models will have Intel Wireless and modem Mini PCI combo cards
Selected models will have CISCO Mini PCI card
Selected models will have Bluetooth communication daughter car

PC Card
Conforms to the PC Card Standard 95
The Type III slot can accommodate two Type I or two Type II, or one Type III PC card
Both 16-bit and 32-bit cards are supported.
PCMCIA 2.1 standard
No zoom video support

barnys
18th September 2006, 06:07 PM
Hello tompabompa and all,

Maybe my question is the same as yours but if not I can start a new thread to discuss about my installation. I have the same problem but my notebook is a T42 Thinkpad. To my knowledge IBM Thinkpads come with two wifi card flavors, some with Intel based chipset and others (like mine) with an Atheros based chipset.