PDA

View Full Version : how can I use mplayer in background!



lch3920126
16th September 2006, 02:20 AM
When I use command "gmplayer&",the face of mplayer is black.
But i use "gmplayer" all is ok!

u-noneinc-s
16th September 2006, 02:26 AM
use mplayer instead of gmplayer
mplayer filename It will accept multiple filenames with path/to/file1 path/to/file2 path/to/file3 format (unless all files are in current working dir)

stevea
16th September 2006, 10:58 AM
gmplay *seems *to need to be ablr to perform some ioctls (system calls) on it's
standard input, but it is blocked in the background. So:
$ gmplayer &
hands, but if you put it in the foreground with:
$ fg
it starts up.

An OK solution is to redirect standard input/out/err like:
$ gmplayer 0</dev/null 1>&0 2>&0 &
where the "</dev/null" is the critical part and the rest is noise reduction.


which works OK.

lch3920126
17th September 2006, 03:12 AM
Yes,the problem has been solved!
But I want to know "0</dev/null 1>&0 2>&0" mean?