PDA

View Full Version : MPlayer Plugin With Firefox

zenarcher
16th September 2006, 12:12 AM
I'm new to Fedora and am having a problem playing videos, using the MPlayer plugin on one system. When I go to a website, such as CNN News and try to play a video, MPlayer opens, but I do not get the video or sound. MPlayer just loops, showing Connectiong....then starting the video, then Connecting again.

On this system, I am using MPlayer Plugin Version 3.31-1. I tried Version 3.25-1 with the same result. On my other system, I have MPlayer Plugin Version 3.21-1 and it works perfectly. Otherwise, both the system are quite similar as to the installed software. Both are 32 bit systems, running KDE desktop.

Could anyone offer me some assistance in fixing the problem?

Thanks,
zenarcher

Iron_Mike
16th September 2006, 01:15 AM
Check out this link has everything you need to know......

http://stanton-finley.net/fedora_core_5_installation_notes.html#

zenarcher
16th September 2006, 01:46 AM
Thank you for the assistance. I had tried that, but must have done something wrong. I removed the MPlayer from my system and again followed the instructions shown by Stan and everything worked fine this time. I have used his notes for everything in my FC5 installation and they are wonderful for someone unfamiliar with FC.

Thanks again,
zenarcher

zenarcher
16th September 2006, 02:05 AM
Okay, apparently I'm still having a problem with the videos on CNN News. This is strange. I can play one....close it and try to play another and I get the same looping between connection and looking like it's going to play. I can go back to the one that just played and have the same thing happen...just looping from connecting to looking like it is going to open and play...then back to connecting.

Any ideas?

Thanks,
zenarcher

Iron_Mike
16th September 2006, 02:07 AM
Just a quick questions, did you install the additional codecs?

zenarcher
16th September 2006, 02:51 AM