PDA

View Full Version : removing graphical interface



jbjaaz
15th September 2006, 04:02 PM
When I installed FC5 many months ago, I installed gnome. Now, I'm running the box as a server and only connect to it via ssh with Putty. So, I want to remove all GUI's I don't need to free up some resources.

I removed gnome by simply doing "yum remove gnome-desktop". Which worked fine.

Is there anything else I should get rid of?

Do I need to change the runtime level the machine boots to?

thanks!

ccrvic
15th September 2006, 04:13 PM
Do I need to change the runtime level the machine boots to?

If you don't want to run an X server, switch to runlevel 3. You can set that up in /etc/inittab.

Vic.

jbjaaz
15th September 2006, 05:06 PM
thanks! that worked fine.