PDA

View Full Version : Gnome to KDE



nekhelesh
15th September 2006, 05:29 AM
Can I switch from gnome to KDE in Fedora Core 5. If yes how do I do it?

Ronin2007
15th September 2006, 05:34 AM
Yes, you can.

Go to Add/Remove Programs and check KDE (K Desktop Environment). You can also go into Optional Packages to install other KDE programs. Then click Apply.

I don't remember if it asks you to reboot, but you can eiter restart or log off and the login screen should give you the KDE option.

Ronin2007
15th September 2006, 05:42 AM
Oh yeah, when you're at the login screen, you have to click Session to chose KDE.

ToolNIN420
15th September 2006, 04:59 PM
so can you do like a dual boot between KDE and Gnome? Having them both and choosing one before you actually log in?

sentry
15th September 2006, 05:02 PM
At the login screen click the "Session" button/link, choose KDE or Gnome or whatever else you have installed. You don't have to reboot you just can't already be logged in to switch.

Seve
15th September 2006, 05:03 PM
so can you do like a dual boot between KDE and Gnome? Having them both and choosing one before you actually log in?
Hello:
Yes, if you select sessions during the login sequence, as previously mentioned.

Seve

ToolNIN420
15th September 2006, 05:12 PM
Hello:
Yes, if you select sessions during the login sequence, as previously mentioned.

Seve

Thanks for the info. That actually makes me like Linux that much more. The fact that I can try another desktop without actually having to uninstall the one I have on is awesome. I might even try XFCE just to check it out.

nekhelesh
15th September 2006, 08:06 PM
thanks for your help guys.