PDA

View Full Version : Loading a 32-bit module in FC5 x86_64?



krisztoforo
13th September 2006, 09:29 PM
I know it's possible to run 32-bit applications on x86_64 without any ill effects. Is it possible to load a 32-bit module compiled on FC5 i386?
I'd appreciate any insight on this.

jcliburn
14th September 2006, 01:56 AM
Yes, 32-bit apps run just fine in x86_64.

I've not tried loading a 32-bit module, but it might/should work.

bazzoon
14th September 2006, 05:01 AM
modules are 32 binaries. if kernel is x86_64 then you can not, I guess. Just like 32 plugins in 64 bit browsers, they are incompatable.