PDA

View Full Version : trying to install DivX Codec to play .avi or .mpg

crmpicco
4th September 2006, 03:18 PM
I was wondering if someone could help me.

I am a nooB to FC5 and I am trying to install DivX codecs and a media player to allow me to play .avi and .mpg files. I have tried numerous sources and looked for guides to do it, but can't seem to get it to work.

Can it be done in a GUI for start to finish? Like the GUI that Windows gives you when you run through and installation?

Has anyone got accurate links for downloads? and can the Totem media player play .avi's with the codecs installed?

Help appreciated.

Picco

bigboss2200
4th September 2006, 03:30 PM
try this link for VLC... i hope it works :D

http://www.videolan.org/vlc/download-fedora.html

crmpicco
4th September 2006, 03:37 PM
hi bigboss2000, thanks for your link. i had actually came across that before, believe it or not.

can you tell me if VLC Player comes with the appropriate codecs??

Also, how do i get to this stage "rpm --import gpg_pubkey_jean-paul.saman.asc" ??

I can get to the terminal prompt, by going to Applications>Terminal.

What do i do after that?

Thanks mate.

Picco

crmpicco
4th September 2006, 03:39 PM
do i copy this (below) into a text file then run the command? Can i not just install it using a GUI? does FC5 not have a GUI like WinXP???

-----BEGIN PGP PUBLIC KEY BLOCK-----
Version: GnuPG v1.4.4 (GNU/Linux)

mQGiBES/Ug0RBADAmAI3ZFGeEMHk8GcibKRhO9lmwHUdi7EOn3+se7OISD d1cG4k
MaDOuNKBUnGiVaIzrRgGgev38XfSrfw8XYCgvfIEMHhwh+zfXe k8szvh/biomLVr
hNRcYVglZjS8ujS0toK9bSqtclny82vVp5aiMNVEtwWlC7yFv2 f677d9rwCgsl1p
T88Pu0LTFZTnlAodhkS8ew0D/j0lpwVA0boqVDz1xmvMgd+uVeiEb+3WxDwTQmOP
KoacDdUHUDAKsJego5ecXMJ+p5AnryBQNK080tdtTCHItSLy0V kmatJCkz1oOmMf
5+Lu9W03D4WmFyGt8YRcy0PUXE5xjMJRLvzdu+PzyPlUPK+7dN p1nQcPIW76FjZy
ISQxBACFnFq5/qssV0b31+glG1fYnfYGcEKxyx/+w8WJVZz7iUe1TatiN3n9477T
HT/VbCWTvlEiyyO1TAlC/9KwE8j8MPacjU5kss6ycYglBXIkBkekG9+Lil4tVrhO