PDA

View Full Version : need help blank screen after udev

midpipps
30th August 2006, 04:35 AM
I have a solo 1450 gateway laptop and recentally did a dual boot system install windows is working normally but fedora core 5 does not seem to want to I am relatively new to linux very new to fedora core and was wondering if anyone has ever seen this before

I see normal everything during boot up seems to be operating normally get past where it says press I for interactive startup and then it gos to starting udev and after that the screen goes blank the hard drives and everything seem to still be going and it seems like something is happening but nothing ever appears.

Please help is this a problem with this laptop just not being able to handle fedora core or is this some type of thing that can be easily fixed and I am just to noobish to figure it out. please be specific in instructions? :(

midpipps
30th August 2006, 05:10 AM
Anyone I need help

Seve
30th August 2006, 05:22 AM
Hello:
Try booting with acpi=off
and see if that helps

Seve

midpipps
30th August 2006, 05:26 AM
how do you change boot options

Seve
30th August 2006, 05:50 AM
Hello:
You can add the acpi=off to end of the kernel line in your grub.conf
When grub shows up, hit enter and then type e to edit and add acpi=off
then type b to boot and you should be good to go.

Seve

midpipps
30th August 2006, 06:07 AM
Thank you very much I am sorry I have an ubuntu system at home but I do not use grub on it so I just change the boot configs when needed it worked like a charm everything seems to be working ok except my wireless but I am sure just a little dinking arounf and some good forum searches and I will have that up too. This may just become my new favorite linux sight .

Seve
30th August 2006, 06:13 AM