PDA

View Full Version : Kernel Update/Installation

mlager
28th August 2006, 04:48 PM
For some time now I've been trying to update my kernel, 2.6.15-1.2054_FC5, to the newer 2.6.17.11 in the good hope it would solve some of my earlier problems. Needless to say, it's not going very well. :rolleyes: Anyways, I followed the instruction provided with the tarball I got from kernel.org, and guess what? It didn't work. Downloaded several other 'How to's' from various other sources, but I have yet to succeed.
I know I'm a newbie here, so I'm probably missing the obvious or doing something very stupid.

I got so far:
- downloaded the tar.bz2 with the source from kernel.org
- downloaded the patch-file that was on the site as well
- unpacked both succesfully in my home directory

When applying the patch, it says:
patching file MAINTAINTERS
Reversed (or previously applied) patch detected! Assume -R? [n]

Don't really what that means, but the turorial says I want to break out of the patch if something different happens from what it states in the tutorial. Which I guess this qualifies, so I pressed 'ctrl c'

To be honest, I'm not entirely sure if I need to run the patch?

Okay, the next step, this tutorial says, and not entirely to my surprise, so do half a dozen others, is to configure the 2.6.x kernel. After having to run '$ make mrproper'.

When I do that, it says:

make: gcc: Command not found

When I type 'make -mrproper' it says:

A whole bunch of things ending with, #ready with Make database on Tue Aug etc..

When I repeat the 'make mrproper', it now says:

CLEAN include/asm include linux/version.h .kernelrelease

So far so good, or not if I'm screwing up.

Right, the configuring part. Don't have much to say about that. It doesn't do very much.
Whatever 'make XXXconfig' command I try, it always results in the same message:

HOSTCC scripts/basic/fixdep
/bin/sh: gcc: command not found
make[1]: *** [scripts/basic/fixdep] Error 127
make: *** [scripts_basic] Error 2