PDA

View Full Version : Total Newbie - No GUI

Lister
27th August 2006, 07:22 PM
Okay, probly my fault for not checking the hardware compatibility list, but I have just installed Bordeax on an old cobbled together machine to take a look.

Although I picked the graphical installer, there seemed to be some error which I've now forgotten (slapped wrists), and it defaulted back to the text installer all the way through. The install finished without further mishap.

When I now boot, I get a text shell. I am totally in the dark regarding Linux, but I know one of the GUI's is called GNOME, so I eventually found a load of GNOME files sat in usr/bin. I tried running GNOME-WS which did something, and the complained about a problem with X Window.

So I guess my graphic card is not supported. It is an old ASUS V7100PRO. There is also an ATI RAGE 128 built into the motherboard, so I enabled that instead and rebooted.

I was hoping the reboot would find the new card, but although it said "Checking for hardware changes", it didn't seem to do anything else abnormal, and gave me a text shell again. GNOME-WS does the same too.

So can anyone take pity on a newbie. I am a total loss now on what to do next. I have no idea where to look for graphic card drivers or settings from the shell. Can someone point me in the right direction?

Many thanks

Dan
27th August 2006, 08:31 PM
Hi Lister,

I can't answer all your questions. I'm a newbie myself. But I may be able to help some others by saving some time. Please give us the details about your system.

Memory Quantity? Type? Speed?
CPU Type? Speed?
MotherBoard? Graphics? (Oops! Got it.)
HDD? Size? Interface?

All that fun stuff will sure help to dig up some answers.

BTW, what happens if you type " startx " from the command prompt?

Dan

bob
27th August 2006, 08:42 PM