PDA

View Full Version : Dual Booting Problem



Eduardain
22nd August 2006, 10:06 PM
Hello, Im trying to run 2 OS in my desktop.
First I installed FC4, I made 3 partitions
hda1 / ext3
hda2 swap
hda3 /home
my 2nd OS is an image of an old hard drive so I uncompress the image in hda3 /home

When the system is booting (GRUB) I choose the 2nd OS, it tries to load but I get this error message

RMDISK: Couldn't find valid RAM disk image starting at 0
.
.
.
Freeing unused kernel memory: 236k freed
attempt to access beyond end of device
03:03 rw=0, want=1219858868, limit=35190382
attempt to access beyond end of device
03:03 rw=0, want=1219858868, limit=35190382
Kernel panic: No init found. Try passing init= option to kernel

Another thing I have to mention is the 2nd OS used to work with LILO, so I modified grub.conf as follows

title Fedora Core (2.6.11-1.1369_FC4)
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.11-1.1369_FC4 ro root=LABEL=/ rhgb quiet
initrd /boot/initrd-2.6.11-1.1369_FC4.img

title 2nd OS
root (hd0,2)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.4.2-2 ro root=/dev/hda3
initrd /boot/2420rc32VM.img

The lilo.conf files from the 2nd OS was

boot=/dev/hda
map=/boot/map
install=/boot/boot.b
delay=0
timeout=0
lba32
root=/dev/hda3
image=/boot/2420rc32VM.img
label=vm
read-only

How can I get this image from my old HD running as a 2nd OS?
Help please
Thanks

funknor
22nd August 2006, 10:16 PM
Not sure if the /dev/hda3 partition works directly, does it still have the label /home?

Check with the command e2label /dev/hda3 what the name is and change if necessary. In case it is still "/home", you need:


kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.4.2-2 ro root=LABEL=/home
initrd /boot/2420rc32VM.img

That did the trick on my install. I am always keeping two versions of Fedora on my hardrive, they have the label "/0" and "/1" instead of the normal "/". That way I simply can install a new release without running the risk to destroy an stable one.

funknor
22nd August 2006, 10:20 PM
hda1 / ext3
hda2 swap
hda3 /home
.
.
.
title Fedora Core (2.6.11-1.1369_FC4)
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.11-1.1369_FC4 ro root=LABEL=/ rhgb quiet
initrd /boot/initrd-2.6.11-1.1369_FC4.img

title 2nd OS
root (hd0,2)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.4.2-2 ro root=/dev/hda3
initrd /boot/2420rc32VM.imgJust noticed another thing, where is your /boot partition? The root(hd0,0) command should always point to the root of boot, so if both kernel images are on the same partition (hd0,0) it should be the same. Try to modify the second root command also to (hd0,0).

Eduardain
23rd August 2006, 03:26 AM
Hi, thanks for your reply,
I try with this LABEL=/home and did not work
Actually I have no /boot partition, the /boot runs under hda1 [hd0,0], and Grub boot loader runs in /boot,
I will try modifing hd0,2 to hd0,0 and will tell you how it was.
I really appreciate your help

Eduardain
23rd August 2006, 12:53 PM
I didnt work I got this message
File not found

funknor
23rd August 2006, 03:06 PM
Hmm, try to get into grub command mode by hitting "c" during the grub menu

You should try to find where the kernel and initrd images actually are from a grub point of view. Here is how you can figure it out:

In grub command line the tab key is your friend. First try:

grub> root (hd0,0)and then

grub> kernel /boot/<+tab>It should list the kernel images that are available in /boot
you can do the same for initrd. In the next step I would try (hd0,2) and see what you are having there.

You can also hit the tab key at the prompt itself and it lists you all the available commands.

Eduardain
24th August 2006, 02:19 PM
last night I re install Fedora and make the partitions again, and install the image...
I make all the things I had to do to uncompress the image... when I boot with GRUB (hd0,2)... the system booted 1 time it took a while but it booted!, then I decided to reboot and do it again and but never boot again, do you have any idea what is the problem now
I see these errors at my display
(I saw a message very quickly i think it was) Error: only one processor found!
kmod: failed to exec /sbin/modprobe -s -k scsi_hostadapter, errno = 2
any idea? I'm getting frustrated hehe