PDA

View Full Version : Cant get Fedora to boot

smQQkin
20th August 2006, 08:30 PM
Ok, I admit it I am a newbie with Linux. I have burned a dvd and cd images of Fedora and can not get them to boot. I am using an Athlon 800 with 512mb memory, 80 gig hard drive. I have changed the boot sequence in the bios to boot on cd. System just bypasses and starts in the Windows XP program.

I have also tried burning the boot.iso image to a cd and still wont boot.

Any ideas or input would be helpful

Legomax
20th August 2006, 08:35 PM
umm... when going through the bios, it gives you setup and boot menu. i think you can access it there. worked for me...

Legomax
20th August 2006, 08:36 PM
you know like press F11 for boot menu

smQQkin
20th August 2006, 08:47 PM
Yes, I have done this. I have changed my boot order to CD/DVD to boot first but all the disks I have burned still wont boot.

Legomax
20th August 2006, 08:50 PM
im not talking about boot order, tho. im talking about an actual boot menu that is activated by pressing a function key and initizes after bios is done, before system boot up

smQQkin
20th August 2006, 08:58 PM
Ok, I see what your saying. I have restarted the machine and hit F11 and still booting to windows.

Legomax
20th August 2006, 09:02 PM
that was an example, some bios's have it set up to press a different key, how fast does it run through bios? if its slow enough you can read the prompts to access different things. also, some cps have some kind of speed boot process which is enable (and in this case disabled) in setup.

Legomax
20th August 2006, 09:04 PM
and oh yeah, for the time being, you can take the HDD of the boot order. makes it easier to turn off the cp... or at least faster

smQQkin
20th August 2006, 09:15 PM