PDA

View Full Version : General HDD question

Ruppmeister
13th August 2006, 06:27 PM
Hi,
So I just got my new FC5 box up and running...yay! My question is, I have done the install with two hard drives in the machine and let it configure the partitions on its own. Because Im new to this and dont know what Im doing I need to know how FC looks at hard drives. I wondering if the new hard drive mounts on bootup on its own or do I have to configure it? Also Im wondering if like M$ stuff the hard drives shows up in my comp as sepperate drives and you save directly to the drive you want, in FC5 do you have to save it to a exact drive or does the OS "share" all the space?
Any help getting this NooB any help "seeing" the drive would help...including the exact commands if needs cauz I dont know them already :(
Thanks

SlowJet
13th August 2006, 06:56 PM
FC5 would install /boot partition hda1 for 200 MB
Then it would create LVM PV (PhyicalVolume) with a VolumeGroup00 for the rest of hda
On the VG would be 2 LogicalVolumes / (rootand all dirs structures including home, and an LV for a swap.

These would be mounted when it booted up.

The second drive would be as it was when the install began. You will need to tell FC to partition it with the LVM gui tool in Gnome.

I recommend you start over and use the Installer disk druid gui tool and create more useful and meaningful partitions.
/boot 200 MB
/ 16 GB
/home 32 GB
Depending on your needs and size of the disk.

The disk druid may seems confusing at fisrt but you can practice (new, add, cahge, delete)
It will not do anything until you click next.

SJ

Ruppmeister
13th August 2006, 07:48 PM
Slowjet,