PDA

View Full Version : rescue disc help!

Wiles
10th August 2006, 01:45 PM
Yesterday I installed a linuxant modem driver on my computer, but this morning, I couldn't boot up.

Booting gets stuck at udev.
I got a message like

starting udev unable to handle kernel page request.

Can someone tell me how to use the fedora rescue disc so I can reinstall that portion of fedora?

mrothlein
10th August 2006, 01:53 PM
Does your computer boot in into GRUB? If so, you may be able to select a previous kernel and troubleshoot from there. You would only have a previous kernel if you have installed an update to do so.

You can possible try troubleshooting with a Knoppix CD. My initial thought is that if the driver installation really messed up the computer, try to remove it using the "rpm -e softwarenamehere" from a terminal. If you cannot do this from Knoppix, maybe you can boot to a prompt of some sort.

Sorry, I'm a noob, but these are some things to think about. You may want to wait for the experts to weigh in on this one.

Wiles
10th August 2006, 02:18 PM
Does your computer boot in into GRUB? If so, you may be able to select a previous kernel and troubleshoot from there. You would only have a previous kernel if you have installed an update to do so.

You can possible try troubleshooting with a Knoppix CD. My initial thought is that if the driver installation really messed up the computer, try to remove it using the "rpm -e softwarenamehere" from a terminal. If you cannot do this from Knoppix, maybe you can boot to a prompt of some sort.

Sorry, I'm a noob, but these are some things to think about. You may want to wait for the experts to weigh in on this one.

thanks, however it wasn't installed via rpm.

I installed from a tar file, so how would I remove it?

Can I just reinstall the system and kernel files, if so, how?

u-noneinc-s
10th August 2006, 02:22 PM