PDA

View Full Version : Ahh! Gnome died!



forbes
28th July 2006, 11:23 PM
I was just working on getting my AirForce one wireless set up, and when I finished following the tutorial, a few gnome apps crashed. I had to ctrl-alt-backspace to kill it, and then restart the computer. But when I restarted and logged back in...I had twm instead! What can I do?

Also, Gnome doesn't show up in the "Session" tab on login...though the gdm works fine there. I can only access TWM.

Jman
29th July 2006, 06:05 AM
When you login run a
switchdesk gnome

forbes
29th July 2006, 02:05 PM
command not found. Any other ideas?

Is there any easy way to reinstall gnome from the dvd?

sultanoswing
29th July 2006, 02:20 PM
There is a way to install it from the DVD, but if you've got a good internet connection, you may as well:

yum groupinstall "GNOME Desktop Environment"

Esp. since that'll pull in the latest version. Then restart, and you should have your GNOME back :)

forbes
29th July 2006, 02:23 PM
No connection, though. Do you know how to do the other way?

deep_k_sharma
20th February 2007, 04:36 AM
Hi
I got a Similar problem when i upgraded Evolution and this solution worked for me , as i saw couple of people getting this problem , try the following

yum groupinstall "GNOME Desktop Environment"
exit and login again
Choose the Session now "Gnome " appears as option

Regards, Deep