PDA

View Full Version : Boot Problem

MiNiMAD
27th July 2006, 08:29 PM
My fresh install of fc5 kernel 2.6.15-1.2054 only boots up maybe once out of every 20 attempts. when it does boot it takes about 10 minutes. It gets as far as saying "uncompressing linux... ok, booting the kernel", then stops. If I remove "rhgb quiet" from the kernel argument it gets as far as "io scheduler cfg registered (default)" then stops. Its my first time with linux any help would be very much appreciated.

btw its a laptop with a p4 2.8ghz and 512 megs ram

thanx

bob
27th July 2006, 11:30 PM
First of all, try a kernel update (yum update kernel) and see if the latest kernel is better. Secondly, type 'dmesg' and look at the messages that you get from your boot - is there any inidication of a problem there? You can also try as root (su -):
"less /var/log/messages" to see if that gives you any clues. Your system basics are fine, although you might want to plug in the make of the laptop into the search feature and see the brand is somehow involved in glitches.

MiNiMAD
28th July 2006, 03:55 PM
It now won't boot at all, I can only get as far as "io scheduler cfq registered". I am guessing I need to boot kernel and access a terminal to update the kernel? I can only use grub at the moment. Is there a command to open a terminal from grub without loading gnome?

bob
28th July 2006, 03:59 PM
Check your hardware (as much as possible with a laptop) and then try a reinstallation. First thing though, I'd try a Live CD from another distro - maybe Knoppix, PCLinuxOS or whatever to see if the problem exists with your machine or with the installation.

MiNiMAD
28th July 2006, 04:08 PM