PDA

View Full Version : I'm so ashamed that I am this dumb.

Robyn
21st July 2006, 04:45 PM
Hi. I have a very basic need. I'm a grad student and I need to analyze my data using a program that runs in linux and requires mysql database action.

So I decided that my laptop can have a partition for linux and all will be well. I've dabbled in knoppix (who hasn't?). I'm normally quite computer literate- I can build a system etc, but I'm no programmer.

So I had a friend install Fedora 4/bordeaux on my laptop. It runs fine, I guess.
I can't find any evidence of the mysql package i selected as being installed, and i can use navicat to be a client but needed to also be server (yes, same puter) too.

I just need to install all the stuff to do this. I got the famed "unable to retrieve software information" error when trying to open an .rpm or at add/remove software. So I followed advice i found online and tried to use Yum.

In the terminal i typed "mv -f yum.conf yum.conf.bak" I don't know what it meant, but yum doesn't work and now instead of the unable to retrieve... error I get exception occured and it "no such config file /etc/yum.conf"

Did I change something to point to a file I don't have? I think I may have.
This computer does NOT have internet access (the computer in question). Linux hates my wireless card and the wired net is strictly regulated here. (i can wait until i go home i guess but would like to get this taken care of at work where I'm productive)

Can one use YUM without internet? further searching assumes i have it.
I can be reached via aim at nefelejtsa in addition to here.

paul_b
21st July 2006, 04:56 PM
you need to do

mv -f /etc/yum.conf.bak /etc/yum.conf

and yum will work again.

yum requires the internet to resolve dependancies, but you should be able to do

yum localinstall [rpm name here]

and that will install the rpm, but you will probobly won't be able to do that unless your dependancies are installed.

Robyn
21st July 2006, 05:06 PM