PDA

View Full Version : Cannot install anything on FC 5



velio
21st July 2006, 03:56 PM
First up - Hello to everybody here. I'm new to Linux and this forum. I just installed Fedora Core 5.
I looked at http://stanton-finley.net/fedora_core_5_installation_notes.html#Yum and around the forum and I knew that I had to install some stuff in order to play MP3s. But here's what happened:
I first wanted to update yum and I started to follow the steps in http://stanton-finley.net/fedora_core_5_installation_notes.html#Yum.
But at some point I get this error:
(I've already done the steps before this one)

[root@localhost velio]# yum -y update
Loading "installonlyn" plugin
Setting up Update Process
Setting up repositories
core [1/6]
dries [2/6]
http://ftp.belnet.be/packages/dries.ulyssis.org/fedora/linux/5/i386/dries/RPMS/repodata/repomd.xml: [Errno 4] IOError: <urlopen error (101, 'Network is unreachable')>
Trying other mirror.
Cannot open/read repomd.xml file for repository: dries
failure: repodata/repomd.xml from dries: [Errno 256] No more mirrors to try.
Error: failure: repodata/repomd.xml from dries: [Errno 256] No more mirrors to try.
[root@localhost velio]#

and that's it.
Then I tried to install Real PLayer but I get pretty much the same error :(
Then I tried going in "Applications->Add/Remove Software", I get a bar showing "retrieving Software Information" and then error: "Unable to retrieve software information"...
Well I'm new to linux, don't know what to do and I'm stuck... Any help would be appretiated :D

Jongi
21st July 2006, 04:03 PM
yum -y --disablerepo=dries update

velio
21st July 2006, 06:05 PM
yum -y --disablerepo=dries update

Thanks :)
Now the system is downloading lots of stuff, and I hope that it'll be working after that :D

velio
22nd July 2006, 11:01 AM
yum -y --disablerepo=dries update

I did that, everything went fine but I still cannot install anything :( Here's an example for Amarok:

[root@localhost ~]# yum -y install amarok
Loading "installonlyn" plugin
Setting up Install Process
Setting up repositories
core [1/6]
dries [2/6]
http://ftp.belnet.be/packages/dries.ulyssis.org/fedora/linux/5/i386/dries/RPMS/repodata/repomd.xml: [Errno 12] Timeout: <urlopen error timed out>
Trying other mirror.
Cannot open/read repomd.xml file for repository: dries
failure: repodata/repomd.xml from dries: [Errno 256] No more mirrors to try.
Error: failure: repodata/repomd.xml from dries: [Errno 256] No more mirrors to try.
[root@localhost ~]#

Also - if I go to "Applications->Add/Remove Software" I get the "cannot retrieve software information" error message :confused:

Any suggestions what to do?

Jongi
22nd July 2006, 12:01 PM
You will see that in your output there is a problem with the dries repository. Hence why I added the --disablerepo=dries option. Basically it tells yum not to look for the files from that repository.

Jongi
22nd July 2006, 12:05 PM
I don't know why you are having problems with Dries cause I am not. Here is my dries.repo file



# cat /etc/yum.repos.d/dries.repo
[dries]
name=Extra Fedora rpms dries - $releasever - $basearch
baseurl=http://ftp.belnet.be/packages/dries.ulyssis.org/fedora/linux/$releasever/$basearch/dries/RPMS/
enabled=0
gpgcheck=1


Maybe change the baseurl in your dries.repo file to the one that I have in mine.

velio
22nd July 2006, 12:43 PM
I don't know why you are having problems with Dries cause I am not. Here is my dries.repo file



# cat /etc/yum.repos.d/dries.repo
[dries]
name=Extra Fedora rpms dries - $releasever - $basearch
baseurl=http://ftp.belnet.be/packages/dries.ulyssis.org/fedora/linux/$releasever/$basearch/dries/RPMS/
enabled=0
gpgcheck=1


Maybe change the baseurl in your dries.repo file to the one that I have in mine.

THAT WORKED! :D
I first put the settings mentioned in http://stanton-finley.net/fedora_core_5_installation_notes.html#Yum
And it was obviously wrong since nothing could be installed. When I changed the dries file with your settings, it worked :)

Thanks for the help Jongi

steppenwolfUSA
22nd July 2006, 09:23 PM
i got that message and couldnt install but cant figure out how you changed it

Jongi
22nd July 2006, 11:42 PM
wolf:

As root, you need to: vi /etc/yum.repos.d/dries.repo

Then change what appears after baseurl= in that file to what is on this page.

Press: : x <Enter>

Try what you did again

velio
24th July 2006, 08:40 AM
i got that message and couldnt install but cant figure out how you changed it

I did it as Jongi said - I just used gedit for the task

gedit /etc/yum.repos.d/dries.repo

:)