PDA

View Full Version : Has anyone successfully installed mplayer i386 on FC5_x64? im getting an error



spfdz
20th July 2006, 06:21 AM
The Error
Missing Dependency: libmpcdec.so.3 is needed by package mplayer

Pretty much, I removed the x64 versions of mplayer, and I tried to install the i386 version of it throgh yumex. I got the error and it won't install. This also happens if I get the actual rpm from a website (livna/atrpms)

Any ideas? I really don't want to do a install of i386.

Noneus
20th July 2006, 08:05 AM
Hmm I'm using the mplayer packages from http://atrpms.net works find for me.

And i don't have such a lib.

spfdz
20th July 2006, 03:36 PM
Hmm I'm using the mplayer packages from http://atrpms.net works find for me.

And i don't have such a lib.

Can you tell me how to edit the repos.d file to point at atrpms for i386 rpms?

Noneus
20th July 2006, 04:22 PM
[atrpms64]
name=Fedora Core $releasever - x86_64 - ATrpms
baseurl=http://dl.atrpms.net/fc$releasever-x86_64/atrpms/stable
gpgkey=http://ATrpms.net/RPM-GPG-KEY.atrpms
gpgcheck=1

[atrpms32]
name=Fedora Core $releasever - i386 - ATrpms
baseurl=http://dl.atrpms.net/fc$releasever-i386/atrpms/stable
gpgkey=http://ATrpms.net/RPM-GPG-KEY.atrpms
gpgcheck=1

That's what I'm using. Just put this into a /etc/yum.repod.d/atrpms.repo or somnething like that.
But you have to install mplayer with yum install mplayer.i386 The 64bit version should not be installed. Because Fedora uses die 64bit binary then.

spfdz
21st July 2006, 06:04 AM
[atrpms64]
name=Fedora Core $releasever - x86_64 - ATrpms
baseurl=http://dl.atrpms.net/fc$releasever-x86_64/atrpms/stable
gpgkey=http://ATrpms.net/RPM-GPG-KEY.atrpms
gpgcheck=1

[atrpms32]
name=Fedora Core $releasever - i386 - ATrpms
baseurl=http://dl.atrpms.net/fc$releasever-i386/atrpms/stable
gpgkey=http://ATrpms.net/RPM-GPG-KEY.atrpms
gpgcheck=1

That's what I'm using. Just put this into a /etc/yum.repod.d/atrpms.repo or somnething like that.
But you have to install mplayer with yum install mplayer.i386 The 64bit version should not be installed. Because Fedora uses die 64bit binary then.

Thank you, that worked perfectly fine. Couple question though, when I moved the file over to the repos.d directory, it asked me if I wanted to overwrite, I said yes. Was that okay?

Also, should I remove this or something? I was searching the forums earlier and I heard it might be bad or something (ie. updating? or when I install something it installs both the x64 version and the x32 one)

edit: errrr I ran into this error while installing mplayerplug-in


Transaction Check Error: package lzo-1.08-6.fc5 (which is newer than lzo-1.08- 2_1.rhfc5.at) is already installed
package libdvdread-0.9.4-4.lvn5 (which is newer than libdvdread-0.9.4-3_1.rhfc 5.at) is already installed
package aalib-1.4.0-0.rc5.7 (which is newer than aalib-1.4-3_rc5.rhfc5.at) is already installed
package faad2-2.0-15.20050131.lvn5 (which is newer than faad2-2.0-3.99.rhfc5.a t) is already installed

tangotiger
21st July 2006, 06:39 AM
That's weird, you obviously have livna around so with extras together, you should be able to get Mplayer with just these two repos. The first file you were missing libmpcdec.so.3 is in a package called libmpcdec in extras.

I might be wrong with what you're trying to do here though. I'm running kplayer with mplayer (all x86_64) but it shouldn't be much more different when you put yum install mplayer.i386 in the command line.

spfdz
21st July 2006, 07:04 AM
That's weird, you obviously have livna around so with extras together, you should be able to get Mplayer with just these two repos. The first file you were missing libmpcdec.so.3 is in a package called libmpcdec in extras.

I might be wrong with what you're trying to do here though. I'm running kplayer with mplayer (all x86_64) but it shouldn't be much more different when you put yum install mplayer.i386 in the command line.

It seems that I can't play ALL wma files, only some wma. I figure it might be because of the x64/i386 version.

tangotiger
21st July 2006, 01:55 PM
Not too sure about wma files, but it shouldn't be an issue of whether you are using an x64 or i386 as this is a codec thing. Unless, of course, there isn't a codec for x64.

As for the earlier questions, unless you DIDn't name the file atrpms.repo, then I don't see a problem (I'd be worried if you'd replace the .repo file for extras or core or something like that).

Mixing repos can give you that problem you're facing -- version conflicts and confused yum and so on. As a personal opinion, I usually stick to extras and livna because they provide a lot of what I need already. If yum gives you i386 packages to install the next time you update, you could just disable the i386 of atrpms. You're going to have a problem when you want to update the i386 packages though.

Noneus
21st July 2006, 10:04 PM
Yeah actually I'm mixing repos :/ I use freshrpms, atrpms and livna. You have to be careful, what package to install. But it works.

spfdz
23rd July 2006, 05:28 PM
Not too sure about wma files, but it shouldn't be an issue of whether you are using an x64 or i386 as this is a codec thing. Unless, of course, there isn't a codec for x64.

As for the earlier questions, unless you DIDn't name the file atrpms.repo, then I don't see a problem (I'd be worried if you'd replace the .repo file for extras or core or something like that).

Mixing repos can give you that problem you're facing -- version conflicts and confused yum and so on. As a personal opinion, I usually stick to extras and livna because they provide a lot of what I need already. If yum gives you i386 packages to install the next time you update, you could just disable the i386 of atrpms. You're going to have a problem when you want to update the i386 packages though.

Can you tell me if this video loads for you then?

http://xboxmovies.teamxbox.com/xbox-360-hires/3009/Blazing-Angles-Squadrons-of-WWII-Trailer-in-720p/

Because it doesn't for me.

tangotiger
24th July 2006, 06:19 AM
Well, on my current setup, I can run the file through Kplayer and it gives me audio but no video. Mplayer claims that I don't have the codec compiled. (Incidentally, I get the same result running RM files). I was about to check whether there is another rpm I might not have installed but my yum is acting gorky right now.

But for now, my problem with your wmv is that I have no codec :P (wmv9dmo or smt like that)

tangotiger
24th July 2006, 06:24 AM
Just read in a forum that the developer said that WMV 9 files aren't supported on Mplayer yet. Apologies then, guess you'd have to wait for a new release. (Don't you just hate proprietary file formats for that?!)

psyklops
24th July 2006, 08:01 AM
I was able to play the video. I've used the Livna repo's for my i386 install of mplayer on FC5 x86_64.

tangotiger
24th July 2006, 10:31 AM
That's strange. I downloaded mplayer i386 from livna but the same results. Psyklops, what packages do you have installed? I want to be able to play it too :P

Edit: Ok, got it. Missing the codecs binary. For anyone else reading this, you could get mplayer i386
1) by running yumex in the console with the flag --forcei386 (IMO easiest way to get i386 packages), read the warning and download mplayer.
2) Then you'd have to get the codecs binary from this page: http://www.mplayerhq.hu/design7/dload.html (under codecs),
3) copy everything to /usr/lib/win32, and you could play that file. My Realmedia file works too.

That's sadly one more reason not to run Fedora x86_64 then.

spfdz
24th July 2006, 10:42 PM
That's strange. I downloaded mplayer i386 from livna but the same results. Psyklops, what packages do you have installed? I want to be able to play it too :P

Edit: Ok, got it. Missing the codecs binary. For anyone else reading this, you could get mplayer i386
1) by running yumex in the console with the flag --forcei386 (IMO easiest way to get i386 packages), read the warning and download mplayer.
2) Then you'd have to get the codecs binary from this page: http://www.mplayerhq.hu/design7/dload.html (under codecs),
3) copy everything to /usr/lib/win32, and you could play that file. My Realmedia file works too.

That's sadly one more reason not to run Fedora x86_64 then.

See but this brings me back to the main problem I was having. I can't install the i386 version since I get errors.

edit: wierd. forwahtever the hell reason. I can download it now.

psyklops
24th July 2006, 11:31 PM
You shouldn't mix the packages. There's a good guide on getting multimedia working here:
http://stanton-finley.net/fedora_core_5_installation_notes.html

Now you have to enable/disable the i386 repositories when you use yum so you don't get conflicts. But I would stick to one repository (i Use Livna) and try not to mix them.

the file you mentioned earlier (libmpcdec.so.3) is 'provided' by libmpcdec.i386. if you do a 'yum install libmpcdec.i386' what happens? before doing that though you will need to set up your i386 repo's.

Federico
26th July 2006, 01:21 AM
I actually installed mplayer with yumex and --forcei386 and everything worked just fine.

I must say I used the yum configuration that i found in http://www.fedorafaq.org/#yumconf .

Maybe that made the difference.