PDA

View Full Version : eth0 3Com 3c905c-TX not found - FC5



Anne
15th July 2006, 12:07 AM
[hammond@cerberus ~]$ lspci
...
00:08.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation 82545EM Gigabit Ethernet Controller (Copper) (rev 01)
...
02:08.0 Ethernet controller: 3Com Corporation 3c905C-TX/TX-M [Tornado] (rev 78)
[hammond@cerberus ~]$

[hammond@cerberus ~]$ ifconfig eth0
eth0: error fetching interface information: Device not found


I have tried kudzu, and also neat. neat only finds the Intel interface.

[hammond@cerberus ~]$ ifconfig -a
dev1462 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:07:E9:1F:B3:4D
BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
Base address:0x1000 Memory:e8800000-e8820000

This dev number seems to change with booting.

Can anyone tell me how to get the system to recognize eth0?

TIA.

jcliburn
15th July 2006, 01:34 PM
Add an entry to /etc/modprobe.conf

alias eth0 3c59x

Then reboot and see if eth0 comes up.

Anne
16th July 2006, 05:24 PM
Thanks. I will try that. But just for confirmation this is what modprobe.conf looks like:

alias eth0 3c59x
alias eth1 3c59x
alias scsi_hostadapter 3w-xxxx
alias net-pf-10 off
alias ipv6 off

I KNOW eth1 was e1000 first, because I changed it to e100 to see if that would cause it to negotiate at 1000 Mpbs. Don't know what changed it, but suspect neat.

I just don't want rebooting to screw up eth1 which is working now. Thanks again.

Anne
18th July 2006, 02:53 AM
I changed /etc/modprobe.conf to, and rebooted:

alias eth0 3c59x
alias eth1 e1000
alias scsi_hostadapter 3w-xxxx
alias net-pf-10 off
alias ipv6 off

Everthing is working fine.

Thanks jcliburn.

jcliburn
18th July 2006, 03:01 AM
You're welcome. Glad you got it fixed.