PDA

View Full Version : Laptop hotkey under non-gnome environment

sdl
14th July 2006, 11:38 AM
Hi there,

I have posted this question in fedora mailing but get no replies. I think this is not a very common problem nowadays since gnome has become so popular. But anyway, here goes:

I'm using fvwm. Under this wm, laptop hotkeys stop working. For example the [stand by] key will make my laptop enter suspension under gnome but does nothing in fvwm. How can I fix this?

For the moment I'm using pm-suspend. I'm looking for a more generic way i.e. [stand by] will always suspend the laptop under any window manager. I have tried to add 'sleep' to /etc/acpi/events, but I'm new to acpid and I don't know if it's my limited knowledge or acpid, it didn't work as expected. Any ideas?

Your help is much appreciated!

undertoad
14th July 2006, 01:40 PM
maybe try acpi_listen from shell, press power buttons, close lid etc. to show corresponding events, then use these events to make some *.conf files in /etc/acpi/events/ there is a sample.conf there as a guide.

sdl
14th July 2006, 07:17 PM
maybe try acpi_listen from shell, press power buttons, close lid etc. to show corresponding events, then use these events to make some *.conf files in /etc/acpi/events/ there is a sample.conf there as a guide.

I run acpi_listen, but there is no output from pressing [stand by] key.

I go ahead and create /etc/acpi/events/sleep.conf with the following lines:

event=button/sleep.*
action=/usr/sbin/pm-suspend

And restart acpid by `/etc/init.d/acpid restart`. After this, [stand by] still does nothing.

wneumann
15th July 2006, 07:32 AM
Do other things generate acpi events? Lid?