PDA

View Full Version : USB Hub not found?



OperatorOne
6th July 2006, 08:38 PM
I just bought a new USB Hub.... F5U244-ME is the model number and it's a Belkin hub for my Thinkpad T42. i plugged it in, just like I would with XP, and it lights up, but when I plug a device in (i.e. my ION External HDD Enclosure), and the ION comes alive but I cannot talk to it from my FC5 box. I know the ION functions right because I use it with the onboard USB port all the time. Do I need to load a module or something? I guess I could leave it in the port when it boots for autodetection, but that defeats the point of having it for on-demand extra ports.

Thanks.... Cheers

Brian1
6th July 2006, 11:07 PM
Not sure the right words to say here but some hubs cheaply made and have some suports limited since they are more like a winmodem lacking some of the USB standards. Seen it before and not sure why. Just to make sure plug in hub and open a terminal session and run the command ' dmesg '. Now plugin the ION drive and see if it is seen by using the dmesg again. Does it report seeing something new?

Brian1

OperatorOne
7th July 2006, 12:04 AM
Not sure the right words to say here but some hubs cheaply made Those sounded pretty on target to me... haha. I guess I should have bought the better hub. lol


Seen it before and not sure why. Just to make sure plug in hub and open a terminal session and run the command ' dmesg '. Now plugin the ION drive and see if it is seen by using the dmesg again. Does it report seeing something new?


Will do I'll let you know the outcome.

OperatorOne
7th July 2006, 12:11 AM
Here is my dmesg output after connecting both the USB hub and the USB ION drive...




DDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): eth1: link is not ready
ADDRCONF(NETDEV_CHANGE): eth1: link becomes ready
eth1: no IPv6 routers present
usb 3-4: new high speed USB device using ehci_hcd and address 3
usb 3-4: configuration #1 chosen from 1 choice
hub 3-4:1.0: USB hub found
hub 3-4:1.0: 4 ports detected
usb 3-4.4: new high speed USB device using ehci_hcd and address 4
usb 3-4.4: configuration #1 chosen from 1 choice
SCSI subsystem initialized
Initializing USB Mass Storage driver...
scsi0 : SCSI emulation for USB Mass Storage devices
usb-storage: device found at 4
usb-storage: waiting for device to settle before scanning
usbcore: registered new driver usb-storage
USB Mass Storage support registered.
usb 3-4.4: reset high speed USB device using ehci_hcd and address 4
usb 3-4.4: reset high speed USB device using ehci_hcd and address 4
usb 3-4.4: reset high speed USB device using ehci_hcd and address 4
usb 3-4.4: reset high speed USB device using ehci_hcd and address 4
0:0:0:0: scsi: Device offlined - not ready after error recovery
usb-storage: device scan complete


And then I unplugged the USB hub and plugged the ION into the notebook directly and got this....


usb 3-4.4: reset high speed USB device using ehci_hcd and address 4
0:0:0:0: scsi: Device offlined - not ready after error recovery
usb-storage: device scan complete
usb 3-4: USB disconnect, address 3
usb 3-4.4: USB disconnect, address 4
usb 3-3: new high speed USB device using ehci_hcd and address 5
usb 3-3: configuration #1 chosen from 1 choice
scsi1 : SCSI emulation for USB Mass Storage devices
usb-storage: device found at 5
usb-storage: waiting for device to settle before scanning
Vendor: HTS54104 Model: 0G9AT00 Rev: 0 0
Type: Direct-Access ANSI SCSI revision: 00
usb-storage: device scan complete
1:0:0:0: Attached scsi generic sg0 type 0
SCSI device sda: 78140160 512-byte hdwr sectors (40008 MB)
sda: Write Protect is off
sda: Mode Sense: 33 00 00 00
sda: assuming drive cache: write through
SCSI device sda: 78140160 512-byte hdwr sectors (40008 MB)
sda: Write Protect is off
sda: Mode Sense: 33 00 00 00
sda: assuming drive cache: write through
sda: sda1
sd 1:0:0:0: Attached scsi disk sda
SELinux: initialized (dev sda1, type vfat), uses genfs_contexts

Anyone have any ideas? I can access the drive just fine when it's directly connected (obviously), and not reachable when connected to the USB port, but the ligths are active and the drive is spinning.

Cheers

Brian1
7th July 2006, 12:48 AM
Yeah that looks like what I seen in the past. Tried a differnet hub and it worked fine. I do not remember the brand or model that worked. Currently I have no hubs around here either to test on my system. If I remember I will post.

Brian1

OperatorOne
7th July 2006, 05:46 PM
Gotcha. Sounds like I need to just spend the extra cash and get a more expensive one? If I read oyur earliest post correctly, you were basically saying the cheaper the less likely it will work? Yeah? :)

Cheers