PDA

View Full Version : Hp Psc 1510



Spats
3rd July 2006, 05:11 AM
I have purchased a HP PSC 1510 all mode printer and have got the print side of things going well but the scanning side seems to be a bit of a problem. When I first installed the printer I used Gimp and then acquire and it showed up and I selected it and got a picture in Gimp but now when i select acquire nothing shows up and nothing happens. I had thought I would have got a GUI but that does not appear. Can anyone shed some light on this . Thank you

Craig Pemberton
3rd July 2006, 06:28 AM
You may want to check bugzilla to see if anyone is having similar problems.

Stevenjd
3rd July 2006, 07:34 AM
Hi, Try running gimp as su


su
gimp

I have troubles with scanners not working in user mode.

HP or this forum may have that fix if that is the case

Spats
3rd July 2006, 10:07 PM
Thank you very much for your replies . I have got the scanner working perfectly in 'su' mode but I get a warning about it everytime. In 'user' mode it does not recognise the scanner. It keeps pointing to a Lexmark one which I had before and it didn't work. Do I need to uninstall Gimp and reinstall it to get it to work properly in the 'user' mode ? or how do I get rid of the Lexmark one ?

Regards

Stevenjd
4th July 2006, 01:54 AM
No you do not need to reinstall gimp - you need to update some rules. give me some time and I will give you the steps. (Here are the basic steps - i need to find out what command to get the vendor id and the product ID

(It is to do with the udev rules) create add the following


su
gedit /etc/udev/rules.d/10-local.rules



add the following


SUBSYSTEM!="usb_device", ACTION!="add", GOTO="_end"
# For All HP
SYSFS{idVendor}=="03f0", SYMLINK+="scanner-%k"
LABEL="_end"



Reboot and your should be able to use your scanner

Steven

Spats
4th July 2006, 02:51 AM
Thanks for your reply Steven . I tried that but in 'user' it still remains the same . When I go 'acquire' the drop down box still shows 'Lexmark' which I no longer have and has been uninstalled. When I go 'su' I can use the scanner perfectly. There was one thing though . When I went to save those rules it came up with two things . One line was a '-' and the other line said something about 'rules' so I saved the rules line
Of course when I first opened 'gedit /etc/udev/rules.d/10 - local.rules' it just showed and empty space.

Regards

Stevenjd
4th July 2006, 03:12 AM
I'll do some more research - as it works in SU mode you should be able to set it up in User mode- it just setting the right rules for your scanner

in the mean time Can you run -


sane-find-scanner

for both user mode and su mode

thanks

Spats
4th July 2006, 03:29 AM
This is what it said in 'su'

# sane-find-scanner will now attempt to detect your scanner. If the
# result is different from what you expected, first make sure your
# scanner is powered up and properly connected to your computer.

# No SCSI scanners found. If you expected something different, make sure that
# you have loaded a kernel SCSI driver for your SCSI adapter.
# Also you need support for SCSI Generic (sg) in your operating system.
# If using Linux, try "modprobe sg".

found USB scanner (vendor=0x03f0 [HP], product=0x4c11 [PSC 1500 series]) at libusb:001:003
# Your USB scanner was (probably) detected. It may or may not be supported by
# SANE. Try scanimage -L and read the backend's manpage.

# Not checking for parallel port scanners.

# Most Scanners connected to the parallel port or other proprietary ports
# can't be detected by this program.

This is what it said in 'user'

# sane-find-scanner will now attempt to detect your scanner. If the
# result is different from what you expected, first make sure your
# scanner is powered up and properly connected to your computer.

# No SCSI scanners found. If you expected something different, make sure that
# you have loaded a kernel SCSI driver for your SCSI adapter.
# Also you need support for SCSI Generic (sg) in your operating system.
# If using Linux, try "modprobe sg".

found USB scanner (vendor=0x03f0, product=0x4c11) at libusb:001:003
# Your USB scanner was (probably) detected. It may or may not be supported by
# SANE. Try scanimage -L and read the backend's manpage.

# Not checking for parallel port scanners.

# Most Scanners connected to the parallel port or other proprietary ports
# can't be detected by this program.

# You may want to run this program as root to find all devices. Once you
# found the scanner devices, be sure to adjust access permissions as
# necessary.

Regards

Stevenjd
4th July 2006, 04:07 AM
OK try this- if this does not work i am not sure what will
-the cp line makes a backup



su
cd /etc/udev/rules.d
cp 60-libsane.rules 60-libsane.rules.backup
gedit 60-libsane.rules


no add the following



# Hewlett-Packard|PSC 1510
SYSFS{idVendor}=="03f0", SYSFS{idProduct}=="4c11", SYMLINK+="scanner-%k"


make sure you add it after the line

SUBSYSTEM!="usb_device", ACTION!="add", GOTO="libsane_rules_end"

prefrebly above the list of scanners



save and restart

now it should be working give it a crack tell me the result as I have customers with the same scanner.

Spats
4th July 2006, 04:32 AM
Well Steven I did not get very far ...
When I entered the line 'cp 60 0 libsane.rules 60 - libsane.rules.backup' it said
cp: target `libsane.rules.backup' is not a directory
so how do I go about making a .backup directory? if that should be done

Regards

Stevenjd
4th July 2006, 04:38 AM
no need the command
try

cp /etc/udev/rules.d/60-libsane.rules /etc/udev/rules.d/60-libsane.rules.backup

and follow the rest of the instructions

Spats
4th July 2006, 04:40 AM
Steven,
I made a .backup directory but now it says
cp: cannot stat `60': No such file or directory
cp: cannot stat `-': No such file or directory
cp: cannot stat `libsane.rules': No such file or directory
cp: cannot stat `60': No such file or directory
cp: cannot stat `-': No such file or directory

So it looks like we are not getting very far with it yet.

Regards

Spats
4th July 2006, 04:57 AM
Steven,
I was able to follow all the instructions but it is still not going in 'user' mode. As a matter of fact when I try and use it in 'user' it ends up 'hanging' on me and I have to switch off at the wall . In 'su' mode it is perfect so I think I have kept you up late enough tonight . Will sleep on it and see what we can do tomorrow but thank you very much for the help so far. It seems to me to be tied up with the other scanner I have in there which was a Lexmark 1185 and it never worked (No drivers) and that's the reason I got this HP 1510. Is there a way I can get rid of the Lexmark out of the drop down box when I select 'acquire'

Regards

Stevenjd
4th July 2006, 04:57 AM
No worries we will get there in the end :)

and anyway it looks like a typing mistake

if you use the following code you can copy and paste into a terminal window
select the text bellow and copy each line separately
use your mouse and right click near the command prompt in the terminal window and select paste

code as follows


su
cp /etc/udev/rules.d/60-libsane.rules /etc/udev/rules.d/60-libsane.rules.backup
gedit /etc/udev/rules.d/60-libsane.rules

add the following


# Hewlett-Packard|PSC 1510
SYSFS{idVendor}=="03f0", SYSFS{idProduct}=="4c11", SYMLINK+="scanner-%k"

afer the line
SUBSYSTEM!="usb_device", ACTION!="add", GOTO="libsane_rules_end") - prefrebly above the list of scanners

Steven

Stevenjd
4th July 2006, 05:12 AM
no probs not late for me just 12:00pm any way you can email me @ steven@easytec.com.hk if you like then we will update the results here

marcrblevins
4th July 2006, 05:30 AM
Look at:
http://penguin-breeder.org/sane/saned/

Sane to work over the local network
Need to forward 6566 udp & 6656 tcp, do that in Security Level & Firewall under Others.
Added the IP address of the Linux box that has scanner attached to in /etc/saned.conf

Add users in /etc/saned.users
format is:
user:password:backend
your backend is hp
Example:
marc:dumbpasswd:hp

su -
service sane-port start

Spats
7th July 2006, 06:10 AM
Well folks just to let you know that I have fixed the problem . Did a complete FC5 reinstall and now the HP 1510 works flawlessly in 'user' and 'su'.

Regards and thanks for help