PDA

View Full Version : How to change from GNOME to KDE?



GregY
2nd July 2006, 04:33 PM
Hi,
How do I change my desktop to run K instead oF GNOME?
Thanks from a newb

carramba
2nd July 2006, 04:40 PM
if you have installed kde, you can switch session before logging in

JoeyJoJoe
2nd July 2006, 11:37 PM
if you don't have wither installed you can install it from applications > add/remove software, you should be able to select KDE and de-select GNOME if you want to do a complete switch... personally as someone who has used both fairly extensively I think GNOME is better

Effie04
3rd July 2006, 01:42 AM
Or maybe install switchdesk-gui - a gui for changing default desktop...

pr0metheus
4th July 2006, 04:41 AM
or even better, you can use switchdesk... for example switchdesk kde... or switchdesk gnome...

Dan
4th July 2006, 07:15 AM
Hi Greg,

When your system boots up, and stops at the login screen, look for the "sessions" menu. Click that, and select the Environment of choice. A dialog box may ask you to decide if you want the current selection to be the default. If you're not sure, just say no. You can always change that later. To get back to this screen, select "log out" rather than "shut down" from the desktop you are using.

Hope it helps.

dan

JohnVV
4th July 2006, 08:51 AM
i do think that TangledWeb's idia is the best
from that menu you can set gnome or kde as defoult or for that session only
however in my opinion gnome is better kde is to "cute" it reminds me of a very frilly windows --my daughter
( 16y ) would like it . also i dont do muck with qt i like gtk .