PDA

View Full Version : Fix terminal display?



Rouge8
30th June 2006, 03:23 AM
When I open up a terminal in my user account, I have:

bash-3.1$

As opposed to (when root):

[root@server ~]#

The problem persists in konsole, gnome-terminal, and xterm.

landoncz
30th June 2006, 03:28 AM
this is not a problem, you are using the bash shell, and this is how the bash shell is supposed to act (i.e. the standard configuration from Fedora), but can be changed to whatever you want if you want...

Rouge8
30th June 2006, 03:37 AM
Really? In Ubuntu and FC4 it's been Andy@server$

How can I change that?

Mariano Suárez-
30th June 2006, 07:24 AM
Edit ~/.bashrc (or create it) and at the end say:

PS1="[\u@\h \w]\\$ "
export PS1

then edit ~/.bash_profile and edit it and/or check that it starts with:

if [ -f ~/.bashrc ]; then
. ~/.bashrc
fi

or simply by

. ~/.bashrc

HTH

PS: Do read the man page for bash. It's horribly long but *immensely* useful.