PDA

View Full Version : Thunderbird and hotmail

sammyd253
26th June 2006, 11:45 PM
Hey all, I'm new to the forums and I'm new to Fedora Core 5. I must say, I'm pretty happy with the way things are going in my experiences with the OS. Since I'm just getting a feel for things, such as trying to perform my day to day Windows tasks on my Linux setup, I wanted to know if it was possible to set up Thunderbird so that I could access my hotmail account messages from it. The only reason I ask is because in Windows, I use Outlook. I've looked at both Thunderbird and Evolution in Linux, and I don't really have a preference to either one. Basically, I just want to be able to use an E-mail client to check my hotmail account. Thanks in advance and I hope that someone can help! :)

aero-z
27th June 2006, 12:01 AM
Hello and welcome to the forum :)

I'm pretty sure that the only client supporting Hotmail is Outlook

sentry
27th June 2006, 12:08 AM
Their are other options look into hotwayd and gotmail

Good luck

sentry
27th June 2006, 12:09 AM
There are other options, look into hotwayd and gotmail

Good luck

jim
27th June 2006, 12:19 AM
http://www.mozilla.org/support/thunderbird/faq

Can I access my Netscape WebMail or Hotmail accounts through Thunderbird?

No. Netscape WebMail and Hotmail use proprietary protocols. To access WebMail directly through an e-mail client requires you to use Netscape 6+ with AIM; to do so with Hotmail requires either Microsoft Outlook or Outlook Express. Of course, you can access your WebMail account on the Web at http://webmail.netscape.com/, or Hotmail at http://www.hotmail.com/.

sammyd253
27th June 2006, 12:47 AM
Well that stinks, oh well... I'll still look into those recommended programs. I guess I can always still try setting something up with Evolution. Thanks though for all the replies! :)

LLS
27th June 2006, 01:33 AM