PDA

View Full Version : Evolution Errors

Rupam Bezbarua
16th June 2006, 07:30 AM
Hello All...

I just got fedup of Windows and installed Fedora Core 4 a few days ago on my dual boot machine that has two hard drives. I have Windows XP Prof on one hard drive and FC 4 on the other. Everything else works just fine except my email. I use Evolution to send and receive emails and was able to send and receive fine till recently. Now, I am not able to send emails with Evolution. I tried Balsa with the same results. Here's the error I get:

Welcome error response: Operation is now in progress.

Here's what I did a few days back:

FC 4 was stuck while bootup a few days back. It got stuck after Enable Swap Space. I follow a thread on this forum and figured out that it could be Sendmail. I removed sendmail altogether and it booted fine there after. I also disabled NFS.

I am completely new to this. This is what I need to know:

1. I do not run a mail server on my Linux box. It is a home PC and I use evolution to check emails on my ISP email account. Do I still need any MTA (Either Postfix or Sendmail) to send and receive emails for a standalone machine like mine?

2. I installed postfix but the issue persists.

3. Checked /etc/hosts and found no entries even though I can browse. I entered the following there:

10.129.16.105 RupamB
127.0.0.1 localhost

4. That did not resolve it so I thought that it could be a permission problem in the directory /var/spool/clientmqueue...Found that there is no directory by the name clientmqueue....I created one under /var/spool/ and then tried the following as root:

chown smmsp:smmsp /var/spool/clientmqueue/
chmod 770 /var/spool/clientmqueue/

The problem is still there. I cannot send mails. I have given up :mad:

I do not want to switch to Windows again and make Gates a lil more richer.

Can I get some help here?

I would really appreciate some help from you all. :)

Jman
19th June 2006, 02:58 AM