PDA

View Full Version : New Fedora User having trouble with Orinoco PC Card

JarHead
3rd April 2004, 10:09 AM
I've only been using Fedora for about 2 weeks now. I played with Mandrake 9.2 for a week before that but didn't find it to be as compatible with my hardware. With that said, I am pretty new to configuring a Linux system.

I am presently running Fedora Core 1 on an HP laptop (ZE4430US) and have gotten everything to work with the exception of my wireless devices. I gave up on trying to get my intergrated Broadcom 802.11G card working since I don't beleive there is any Linux support for it at this time. I do also have a Lucent Orinoco Silver PCMCIA card that I would like to get working. I have borrowed a DLink DWL-650plus wifi PCMCIA card as well for testing as necessary.

My problem thus far is this - Whenever I insert the Orinoco card I get freezing. If I boot with the card inserted I get a freeze in the boot process. I will locate the point at which this happens and report back. If I insert the card while the system is running then I will either get no response at all or I will get a single beep and the system will freeze. When the system gives no reaction to the card being inserted it will freeze if I remove the card and insert it again.
When I insert the Dlink card and boot the system does not freeze. I don't believe that the system is recognizing the card as 1) no lights come on on the card, 2) in the network section of the system settings group in the Gnome menu I don't seem to be able t configure the card at all. I have made no attempt to install drivers or otherwise configure the system for this card so that might be the problem with that card. If I remove and insert the Dlink card while the system is running I will get a single beep upon inserting it and the system will not freeze.