PDA

View Full Version : kernel smp ?



ilbh
5th June 2006, 05:03 AM
is kernel smp for multiprocessors cpus?
i have a pentium 4 with hyper threading, do i need to install a kernel-smp or not ?

when i installed the nvidia kmod, it installed a kernel without smp for me...
and when i try to run with the smp kernel, the kmod cant load.

if my cpu is smp, how can i use nvidia kmod within it ?

December
5th June 2006, 05:17 AM
Yes, you can use the SMP kernel with a HT Pentium 4, since linux sees the processor as 2. Some programs (like Maya) are significnatly better when used with the SMP kernel on a HT processor.

You need to install the correct module for Nvidia that matches your kernel (and you need to do it every time you upgrade your kernel). It will have SMP in the name, for example on my machine I have:

kernel-module-nvidia-2.6.15-1.1833_FC4smp-1.0.8178-0.lvn.3.4

I know taht in FC5 they have changed the name to kmod, but it should still be the same, look for the one that matches your running kernel. I don't have any non-smp kernels on this computer anymore and never had any problems.

ilbh
5th June 2006, 05:19 AM
i did
yum install kmod-nvidia-smp

it worked
thanks for all