PDA

View Full Version : A little help with yum

pegasus_329
3rd June 2006, 06:01 AM
I have been using various distributions of linux for a few years now, and so far Fedora Core 5 has been the best distro that I have used. I think that I am catching on to all the basics, including using yum, but am still learning - a lot. But lately I have been frustrated while using yum because almost every time it tries to download primary.xml.gz it times out, or the metadata checksum does not match (or something like that). It goes through a pretty large list of mirrors trying to download this file, but almost all of them time out, giving the error "[Errno 4] Socket Error: timed out." It is a large file (for me) at 1.2mb. I am using a dial-up connection, through a linux firewall distribution called SmoothWall hooked into my home network. I am not sure if this is what is causing the time-outs or if there is something wrong with my yum.conf file or any of the .repo files. I changed my yum install to match the one that the author of the Fedora FAQ was using. I really want to use yum to install packages because of the packages that I was able to install it was very easy. Thanks for any help.

u-noneinc-s
3rd June 2006, 06:13 AM
First thing to do is try to install the fastestmirror plugin for yum. It should help out a ot with time-outs on dial up.
yum install yum-fastestmirror
As for the checksum errors, this is fairly common (I think it has to do with mirrors being updated). All you can do about that is try
again later or use yumex with the "best mriiror" detection. Not as fast as the fastestmirror plugin but it will find the best mirrors. Good for updates.

pegasus_329
3rd June 2006, 06:34 AM