PDA

View Full Version : A Few Random Issues



OperatorOne
31st May 2006, 06:58 PM
I just wanted to give a shout of thanks to everyone on this board who has repsonded to any of the posts I have made in the last few weeks. I am a former coder who went to the Darkside and became a network specialist, obtaining my MCSE about 6 years ago.

Once I had my MCSE, I pretty much lost touch with Linux and all of the open source stuff as I was so buried in dealing with Microsuck issues I didn't even want to touch my own machines when I got home anymore. Thanks to Fedora, and this board, I am much happier using Linux again, and my faith in the open source community is rock solid after using this latest iteration of FC.

I have a few minor issues, aside from the ATI issue everyone is having, that I cannot seem to resolve... and I was hoping some of you would have answer to these little annoyances. Any input is appreciated. :)

1) I use Dameware (http://dameware.com) at work to administer the Windows side of our network from my notebook. IS there a product for Linux I can install, or a series of products which will give me similar functionality. Primarily I am concerned with the MiniRemote tool, it allows me to log on and remote control the machine as if I were there, but without using an RDP session, so I can, for example, logon when a user is having an issue and watch what's going on and even take control and fix things.

I was thinking VNC might be a good solution for this ? What are the security issues? It's only internal, if I need access from outside I use VPN and then hit the servers from there.

2) I use Daemon Tool for Windows to get the virtual CD thing happening, and I know I can mount ISO files directly in Linux, but I installed CDEMU for the purpose of mounting bin/cue files and such. It mounts them correctly but how do I get to the data it has mounted at /dev/cdemu0 ?

3) Is there no way to write to an NTFS partition? We use Mobile HDDs here for quick transport and I have mine setup as fat32 but the boss uses NTFS so I can read his drive but not write to it.

4) How can I punch a hole in Firestarter so my VPN will work without disabling it. OR... do I even need a Firewall with the SELinux stuff? Can I just use that stuff and be mostly safe? OR... if not Firestarter or the builtin one, which one?

5) How can I set it up so when I launch Kwallet and KVPNC, or any app for that matter, will launch without asking for root creds. Can I set it up to allow those specific apps to launch under my regular account without entering the root password all the time? sometimes when I boot I have to enter it three times.

6) Is anyone aware of someone who made the sims 2 run on Linux? In order to convert my wife it will need to play the sims (sigh).

Other than that... I think Im doing well. with this board, my Linux 2006 bible, and some effort I don't see myself going back to windows on my personal gear. :)

cheers and thanks again.

sentry
31st May 2006, 07:11 PM
1) I use Dameware (http://dameware.com) at work to administer the Windows side of our network from my notebook. IS there a product for Linux I can install, or a series of products which will give me similar functionality. Primarily I am concerned with the MiniRemote tool, it allows me to log on and remote control the machine as if I were there, but without using an RDP session, so I can, for example, logon when a user is having an issue and watch what's going on and even take control and fix things.

I was thinking VNC might be a good solution for this ? What are the security issues? It's only internal, if I need access from outside I use VPN and then hit the servers from there.

There are techniques for forwarding X11 over ssh. I never use anything other than the cli to remotely administer machines. Servers or Desktops, or Laptops, I've logged in while people were using them to troubleshoot. I would say try VNC or forwarding X over ssh. But both have security issues. sorry I can't be more help here.

2) I use Daemon Tool for Windows to get the virtual CD thing happening, and I know I can mount ISO files directly in Linux, but I installed CDEMU for the purpose of mounting bin/cue files and such. It mounts them correctly but how do I get to the data it has mounted at /dev/cdemu0 ?

What exactly do you mean by get the data?

3) Is there no way to write to an NTFS partition? We use Mobile HDDs here for quick transport and I have mine setup as fat32 but the boss uses NTFS so I can read his drive but not write to it.
Writing to NT partitions is not support and from what I've heard it will bork any medium you try this one. Sorry, but ask the boss nicely to use FAT32.


4) How can I punch a hole in Firestarter so my VPN will work without disabling it. OR... do I even need a Firewall with the SELinux stuff? Can I just use that stuff and be mostly safe? OR... if not Firestarter or the builtin one, which one?
SELinux and a firewall are very different, you should always run a firewall on a machine that's exposed to the internet, no excuse not to IMO. That said I used firestarter breifly ages ago but you should be able to specify ports somewhere. You just need to figure out what ports to open for your VPN.

5) How can I set it up so when I launch Kwallet and KVPNC, or any app for that matter, will launch without asking for root creds. Can I set it up to allow those specific apps to launch under my regular account without entering the root password all the time? sometimes when I boot I have to enter it three times.
sudo is a tool that you should look into, you can use the NOPASSWD option to allow a normal user to run administrative programs. Although I would caution against open up full rights to anyone. Thankgully you can specify a list of binaries for a specific person or group that you want them to run.


6) Is anyone aware of someone who made the sims 2 run on Linux? In order to convert my wife it will need to play the sims (sigh).

Look into Wine and check out www.winehq.com to see what they have in the database about Sims 2.

Hope that's some help for you. I'm sure someone can eleborate on the parts I'm sketchy on.

OperatorOne
31st May 2006, 07:23 PM
Originally Posted by OperatorOne
2) I use Daemon Tool for Windows to get the virtual CD thing happening, and I know I can mount ISO files directly in Linux, but I installed CDEMU for the purpose of mounting bin/cue files and such. It mounts them correctly but how do I get to the data it has mounted at /dev/cdemu0 ?

What exactly do you mean by get the data?

I should have typed get TO the data. So, let's say I mount up a Bin/CUE with KVCD files, and it mounts that with CDEMU to /dev/cdemu0. How would I then use the /dev/cdemu0 to load the data contained in the image, that should now be available at that mountpoint?

and thanks for the other replies, good stuff. I hate using GUI remote as well, but the boss likes his GUI. He's wierd that way, like he feels if I am doing it via cli I am doing something sneaky. hehe. no worries.

Cheers

OperatorOne
31st May 2006, 07:30 PM
So I checked my Firestarter config, and I have 1723 open for VPN, as I understood it was needed, but when the firewall is active, no traffic, as soon as I disable the firewall, the pings begin to flow.

sentry
31st May 2006, 08:09 PM
To mount an iso I would try mount -o loop -t iso9660 FILENAME.iso /mnt/iso this should allow you to browse the image.

As for the VPN firewall issue, I'm not sure. Are you certain all ports are open that need to be?

sentry
31st May 2006, 08:13 PM
lol, I just was cruising the threads and found this on the main page http://fedoraforum.org/forum/showthread.php?t=111670

Apparently someone else is having the same questions ;)

markkuk
31st May 2006, 10:40 PM
I should have typed get TO the data. So, let's say I mount up a Bin/CUE with KVCD files, and it mounts that with CDEMU to /dev/cdemu0. How would I then use the /dev/cdemu0 to load the data contained in the image, that should now be available at that mountpoint?

CDemu doesn't mount anything and /dev/cdemu0 is a device, not a mount point. You must mount the device created by CDemu to make the files accessible, e.g.

mount -t iso9960 /dev/cdemu0 /media/cdrom

OperatorOne
1st June 2006, 06:42 AM
I feel like a dork. I should have known that. Thanks. I can now use cdemu just fine. Anyone know how to change the login screen to something more custom?

Also, once I mount a filesystem with "mount -t [filesystem] [source] [mountpoint]" how can I unmount it to free that mountpoint? I tried the unmount command as that seemed obvious but I do not have it installed apparently? I am in a super user terminal so I should be able to execute the command if it's on here.

P.S. I solved my VPN issue, for any having the same issues here's the thread......

VPN= Virtually a Pain in the Neck (http://forums.fedoraforum.org/forum/showthread.php?t=110901)

markkuk
1st June 2006, 09:53 AM
The copmmand is "umount", not "unmount".

OperatorOne
1st June 2006, 07:58 PM
The copmmand is "umount", not "unmount".

Ah ha. that'll teach me to read closer. works like a charm... thanks.

OperatorOne
1st June 2006, 08:03 PM
Is there a way to adjuts font sizes in individual apps? I found the space to ajust system fonts and such, but my open office apps seem to conform to their own font settings and I am unable to figure out how to shrink them.

this thinkpad has 1024x768 and I want to squeeze as much stuff as I can on the desktop by axing needless whitespace. :)

rhb100
2nd June 2006, 03:19 AM
[QUOTE=sentry]

Writing to NT partitions is not support and from what I've heard it will bork any medium you try this one. Sorry, but ask the boss nicely to use FAT32.

I have been unable to write to an NFTS partition after several tries. But if you can't write to NFTS, then what are they talking about at
http://wiki.linux-ntfs.org/doku.php?id=ntfs-en#can_i_write_to_an_ntfs_volume
when they say,
"
3.2 Can I write to an NTFS volume?
The Linux-NTFS project provides safe write support in different ways and with different degree of functionality since 2002.
At first the kernel driver started to support file overwrite which ...
" ?

OperatorOne
13th June 2006, 11:18 PM
Here's a new random issue:

I have a PSP, and on windows, if I stick an 'psp.ico' in the root of the memstick, and place an 'autorun.ini' file in the root as well, I can get Windows to display the Icon instead of using the lame default one, and I can also change the drive name to 'PSP' and it will remain that way, even when I disconnect the PSP and reconnect it later.

I'm sure there's a way to do this, I'm just not sure what it would be. Anyone have any suggestions?

Cheers.

also, Is there a way to alter your Grub splash screen to something more custom?

Scytale
14th June 2006, 02:45 AM
Yeah you can change you're grub splash screen look in the /boot directory. I think the image is stored as a Gzipped PNG file. There should be plenty of hits on google for how to customize it, if I remember correctly you can only use a certian amount of colors (16?). There is a way to change the name of removable devices, my usb drive calls itself Matts_disk, can't for the life of me remember how I did it though. Maybe try reformatting it as Fat32 and create a volume label or similar.

rhb100
14th June 2006, 04:03 AM
You can edit the /boot/grub/grub.conf file so as to change the default Other to Windows XP or whatever you like. You can put a # before the hiddenmenu so that you see the menu. You can make other changes.

wintermute000
14th June 2006, 04:06 AM
Hey Operator One, look @ this

http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=103810&highlight=automount

Worked for me!